Unlocked iPhone is now locked after restore! Please help

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cdg2sfo, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. cdg2sfo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    #1
    I had bought an iPhone 3GS in Belgium where they are unlocked (not connected to a given carrier). Paid the extra bucks for it! I just went through a restore and update after some problems with it. It is now telling me that the iPhone is locked and I have the wrong carrier SIM in it. How can I solve this?
    Thanks
     
  2. Crystal-RX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    You need to give us more info about your phone,

    Firmware version.
    Baseband.
     
  3. cdg2sfo
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    #3
    Initially the phone was not carier locked and was running a 3.x OS. When I had the problem and did a hard restore, I went into restore mode. iTunes updated the firmware to the latest 4.x available. Now, I cannot get passed the "connect to iTunes" screen so I have no idea what the baseband is. And in iTunes, it tells me to put a proper SIM in. I cannot get any information about it. Is there a way to get the information?
     
  4. Crystal-RX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Base on what you describe, you have bought an unlocked iPhone using software. Since you have update/restore it, it is now reset to factory setting as well as updating it's baseband passes 05.13 where you can't unlock it with Ultrasn0w.

    There are 2 options you can do to pass this activation screen,
    1. Using AT&T sim card to put into your phone, hook it to iTunes and it will bring your phone to home screen. The sim card does not need to be active. You can use old/inactive sim.
    2. jailbreake and Hactivate it with Redsn0w. However, please note that it will be a tethered jailbreak because I believe your phone now have 4.3.5 firmware.

    Also, even you pass by this screen, you can't unlock it what baseband you have it it now. You will need to install IPad baseband first, then jailbreak it with Ultrasnow.
     
  5. Daveoc64
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    I don't see why.

    That would only really be helpful if the unlock was achieved using a hack.

    If you still have proof of purchase, any Apple Store should be able to investigate the issue - even if that store is in another country.
     
  6. cdg2sfo
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    #6
    Actually, I bought it brand new from an official store in Belgium. In Belgium, carriers are not allowed to subsidize phones so they are never locked. I paid full price for that. :(

    ----------

    Nope, unlock was not achieved with a hack. It was totally legal.
    I don't have my receipt anymore but I will try my luck at an Apple Store.

    thanks
     
  7. Crystal-RX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    If the phone is factory unlocked, OP should be able to update/restore to latest firmware without loosing it's unlocked. So, it think the phone is hacked and unlocked by using software.
     
  8. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Sounds like the phone was not factory unlocked but jb and software unlocked.
     
  9. cdg2sfo
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    #9
    Well my previous OS updates and restore did not yield this result.
     
  10. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    That's weird.
    Once a Phone is factory unlocked it doesn't just lock all of a sudden.
     
  11. MaxBurn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #11
    I'd say try restoring it again. As far as we know iTunes needs to check with apple to check the unlocked state and unlock it.

    Make sure your hosts file doesn't have any apple entries in it that would keep it from reaching apple.
     
  12. josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    #12
    The same thing happened to me but with a iPhone4. I restored it to factory settings, since I had sold it, and when I tried to activate it using another operator's sim card, it wouldn't allow it. I have used this device in Barcelona, London, Panama and Venezuela and always with different phone companies. What can I do? Is there anything I can do to solve this problem?
     
  13. PsstGreek
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #13
    Was it jailbroken unlocked? If so, now your only option would be a factory (imei) unlock.
     
  14. josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    #14
    No. It was factory unlocked. I got it in London, and then used it for 2 years this way over Barcelona, Panamá Venezuela and London back again.
     
  15. PsstGreek
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #15
    Well, it needs to be activated again after being restored.
     
  16. josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    #16
    Obviously. That is the problem dude. I can't activate it with another operator's sim card, 'cause it would not recognize it. I swich back to the original operator, and works fine.
     
  17. Applejuiced
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Thats weird.
    Seems like it relocked again somehow.
    Heard of that happening before to others.
     
  18. nicholasss
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #18

    What's the original operator?
     
  19. josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
  20. nicholasss
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
  21. josetaerre, Apr 25, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014

    josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
  22. nicholasss
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #22
    Unlocked iPhone is now locked after restore! Please help

    According to a report, it's unlocked. It says it has been unlocked since 12/23/11. You don't always need the original sim after it's been unlocked. Some have had success just by turning the phone off, inserting the new sim and turning it back on.
     
  23. josetaerre
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    #23
  24. nicholasss
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Usa
    #24
    I PM'ed you the report.
     

Share This Page