Unofficial 64-bit support in Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by equis.zero, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    So I was setting up my new Mac Pro today, I installed 64-bit Vista because I have it configured with 6gb of ram and would like to be able to use all of it. I was planning to just hunt around for drivers as everyone else seems to from what I've read, but I noticed that on the restore disks under Drivers\Apple\, there was a file called BootCamp64.exe, so I decided to run it, and now everything works perfectly, keyboard, bluetooth, everything. Strangely there were also Windows drivers for the multi-touch trackpad in the MacBook Air. Has anyone else noticed this? Is this on all Leopard disks?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    really? When did you buy the disk? I can't believe no one found that little tidbit about the Air before. Nice finds.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #3
    They are the install disks from his new Mac Pro. Which means either:

    A) it's 10.5.1 and a 1/2 like some people think they have done to get at least the standard Mac Pro's out the door until 10.5.2

    or

    B) It's fake. Anyone else with a Mac Pro want to check their discs and see if the above mentioned files are located there as well?

    That would be awesome if we did, in fact, have unofficial(or maybe official with 10.5.2) 64 bit Vista support so we could actually make use of all the extra ram.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Warminster, PA
    #4
    Wow. this would be absolutely amazing if in fact this is true. Someone needs to pop their discs into a pc to try this out.....

    This is exciting since you could now have Windowz see more than 2 gigs of Ram...
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #5
    I looked at my Leopard disk ("Mac OS X V10.5 Retail") that I used to upgrade from Tiger. No such file found, but not surprising since it is the 10.5.0 version.

    I've been running Vista Ultimate 64-bit without using bootcamp for nearly a year now. The main issue is having to change the clock each time I boot back into Vista, and the fact there are no bluetooth drivers for my wireless Apple keyboard/mouse (so I've been using a wired USB keyboard and a wireless MS mouse). It would be great if Apple is really going to support 64 bit, but I'm not holding my breath.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    I really hope it comes soon, my network card keeps crapping out on me. I have to disconnect and reconnect every few minutes because it just stops functioning.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Trekkie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    #7
    Why is it the newbies with little/no posts always post things like this? Anyone else able to confirm with a new mac?

    My brother bought XP 64 bit on accident when he got his a year ago. Would be awesome if they have it. I'm going to pick up a new Macbook Air or Pro after tax refund gets here to update the wifes 3 year old laptop. Hopefully can find out then.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #8
    Sounds like an unrelated release. 10.5.1 did not modify the drivers under the bootcamp assistant. They are still labeled "created July 31st, 2007." What is interesting is that the drivers that came with the leopard disk say created October 8, 2007
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #9
    I'm sure there are MacPro owners here who can look at their recovery discs and easily confirm or deny this story. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Just looked at mine. Don't see a Drivers\apple\ directory anywhere.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    you have to look at it when under windows. They don't even show when "showing hidden system files" is enabled in osx.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #12
    AAAHHHHH!

    Well in that case I found it. Good fine OP. Its definately there on my new mac pro restore cd disc 1.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #13
    I finally found the proof of 64-bit support......

    I just got my Mac Pro last week and installed XP via Boot Camp today, I just followed the Print Installation and Setup Guide from Boot Camp Assistant. Everybody take a look at Page 4, the message said:

    Important: You must use a single full-install Windows installation disc (Service Pack 2 is required for Windows XP installations). Do not use an upgrade version of Windows and do not install an earlier version of Windows XP and attempt to update it later to SP2 or later. Use only 32-bit versions of Windows. If you have a Mac Pro introduced in late 2007 or later, you can use a 64-bit version of Windows Vista.

    Hope that clarify everyone's mind, this is my first time posting in this board, got the basic 2.8 Mac Pro and ordered 2 ATI 2600xt more, I have to use 6 displays for my Finance business, may add to 8 in the future. This is the most powerful computer I ever had in my entire life.....(still remembered the old day getting the AppleIIe twenty five years ago)....let's enjoy this incredible "Beast" till the end of world...lol
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #14
    Nice! Funny how this was in the manual all along.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #15
    Excellent! Guess I'll be ordering my copy of Vista Ultimate 64bit then. As limited as Apple's Support is for 64bit windows OS's, it makes sense they would start supporting it at least on the Mac Pro as that's the one platform where it is really necessary.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #16
    Does one need to own the New Mac Pro Restore DVD for this to work?

    Is this file available on the Leopard Install DVD?

    I cannot imagine this is available on the old Mac Pro Restore DVD...
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #17
    distinction between intel products

    If you examined closely the last 2 years in transition stage, the Intel processors also in transition from coreduo(only support 32bits) to core2duo(supports 64bits extention). But I dont know about first generation 65nm Xeon architecture(probalby from coreduo? 32bits) versus this 45nmXeon, may be you have to go to Intel website to check for sure. Chances are that 1st generation Xeon should be based on coreduo 32bits as Intel still worked on 64bits codes two years ago alongside with Microsoft 64-bits Vista delay complicated things further. I am so lucky to have this new 45nm MacPro as all of the above transitions hardware(Intel) and software(Vista) already completed, that's why Apply have full 64bits drivers support in the included Restore CD in my New MacPro. Welcome everybody to the New Era of 64bits Multiprocessing Multithreaded Computer.......Enjoy.:)
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #18
    Would anyone with the new Bootcamp64.exe mind zipping it up and putting it on rapidshare or something equivalent? I 'd love to get keyboard support in vista 64 on my 2006 mac pro..
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #19
    Yes that would be great! :)
     
  20. macrumors regular

    TheThirdMan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #20
    Look at MacRumours front page!

    They are OFFICIAL apple drivers for 64-bit vista! At last! 3ds max....
     
  21. TBi
    macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    All Xeons used in macs are 64bit, thus all Mac Pro's are 64bit.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #22
    I'm uploading the drivers to Rapidshare right now, I'll post the link when it's done.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    #23
    thanks really appreciate it, i was going to see about going to my local apple store to get the file..
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #24
    Thanks! Really appreciate it. Between this and the news that Nvidia is going to get a 2006/2007 compatible 8800 GT out, I'm a very happy Mac Pro owner this week.
     
  25. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #25
    If you go out buying Vista Ultimate do not get the system builders version of Ultimate.It only includes the 32-bit version.
     

Share This Page