Unreal Tournament 2004...Ugh!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by eclipse525, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #1
    I'm alittle urked! They just announced Unreal Tournament 2004 for the Mac to be released early Q1 2004. Which is good because both Windows and Mac versions will be release in the same time frame BUT bad for people without the horse power. How many of you now have to upgrade your Mac's becuase you barely OR dont' meet the minimum requirements for Halo and perhaps UT 2004?

    http://maccentral.macworld.com/news/2003/12/05/ut2k4/


    ~e
     
  2. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #2
    Well, glad to see that it'll be released at the same time as the PC version.
     
  3. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Wait till DOOM III comes out....
    Anybody w/o at least a Dual 1 Ghz G4 or any G5 w/o at least a 64 MB VRAM grfx card will have to upgrade too.

    Just the way these things go.
     
  4. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #4
    Im happy with Starcraft. I dont care for tons of spectacular graphics---I just want it to be a fun game.
     
  5. howard macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #5
    arn't games basically the main reason why consumer hardware gets faster and faster?

    you have to have the top of the line hardware to play the top of the line games
     
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    I think you are probably right....

    Having a computer which can encode your movies to MPEG 2 format very quickly is nice, but being able to play Half Life 2 "as it should be played" seems to sell more fast hardware. Yep.
     
  7. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
  8. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #8
    tell you the truth i upgraded my quicksilver just for UT2003 and Halo. using a 1.4 owc merc xtreme and running at 1.467 today. im ready for 2004,Halo and anything else (except doom3? will see?) anyways glad to see Apple moving forward now they are using IBM.
     
  9. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #9
    Ironic; the truth is even though I never play 3D games (MAME emulation is another matter) on my computer, I've been looking for a game with outrageous hardware requirements just so I have something to push my G5/9800.

    I figured that Halo was stiff enough that I might go for that one as my "show off to friends" demo, and it has a passable single-player mode, too. Besides, it's sort of the last product of the old Bungie, as sad as that makes me.
     
  10. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #10
    Halo will be good but may i suggest Nascar 2003 with a full track of 43 cars and high details & weather cranked up! also UT2K3 all the way up! I hope you are talking Dual G5. if not you may want to turn down a few things.
     
  11. eclipse525 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #11
    Games push the hardware envelope, just like Porn pushes internet innovation.



    ~e
     
  12. eclipse525 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #12
    As far as DoomIII, I haven't heard of it being released for the Mac platform. Is it going to be ? That would be insane. It looks AMAZING!

    ~e
     
  13. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #13
    ID Software has always released it's games on the Mac. The first public preview was on a G4 I believe. I think Carmack is is just a mac head in heart. He also scolded Apple for putting the nVidia chip in the original 17" pb.
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Yep. That's why "everyone" is expecting it to come to Mac and PC (also Xbox) at approx. the same date.
    Especially as the first public demo (MWT 2001) was on a Mac!

    But.... I have never read that it would DEFINITELY come to the Mac. Just PC and Xbox (ya know how M$ are... just buy out ID Software).
    Does anybody have any real info on this?
     
  15. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    I can't give you a link (can't remember where i read it), but I've seen confirmation that the Windows and Mac versions will be released at the same time, on the same CD.

    PS. I liked your old avatar better.
     
  16. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    You did?

    I was wondering how many could really "see" what it was.
    Quite a complex 'tar to fit in such a small space... ;)

    Mac - Picasso not nice? :(
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    If I hadn't seen the "proper" one beforehand, I wouldn't have been able to figure out what it was :)

    But I suppose a lot of people wouldn't have recognised it. The Picasso is nice, but the old logo is nicer :)
     
  18. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    That was indeed the fun of it:
    If you couldn't recognize it, you should try to figure it out.... (a Mac-fanatic sould know ;) )
    Same goes for the "Picasso". Much easier, but still a piece of Apple history.

    BTW, I'm sure many MacRumors-readers (especially the younger ones, or swicthers) may not recognize this one either.
    Maybe some want to try to find out.
    :)

    Tnx for the interest, Nermal. :)
     
  19. Nik_Doof macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    #19
    I played UT2004 at ECTS in September time, its the UT2003 engine just with more back end coding. Requirements were along the lines (according to the rep) "if it runs 2003, it will have no problems".

    Theres a few bad pics of it on my gallery site: http://gallery.nikdoof.net/ects2003?page=2
     
  20. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #20
    You know, when I got my eMac a few weeks ago, I wasn't entirely expecting to play the BEST AND NEWEST games available for the Mac platform, but I wouldn't mind playing some of the current and older stuff. Well, when I got poor framerates out of both the original UT and Q3 demos, I'm a but disappointed. Either the 7500 is a ****tier card than Apple cares to note, or maybe it's the fact that both of those games run in OS9.

    On a different note, anyone think I'll be able to play Rayman 3 on my 1Ghz G4/512MB Ram/32 MB ATi Radeon 7500 decently? I'm really looking forward to it, as Rayman 2 was my favorite videogame so far.
     
  21. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #21
    There is a Mac OS X-specific version of Quake III Arena. I'm not sure if that's what you were running or not but it should run decently on that hardware since it runs so-so on my G3/800 and Rage 128.

    I would suggest more RAM.
     
  22. eclipse525 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #22

    You shouldn't have a problem. I'm sure it'll run smoothly BUT I would recommend doubling your current RAM. I have my iMac 17"(FP 800mHz) up to a 1gig of RAM and it sure makes a difference overall. Enjoy Rayman!


    ~e
     

Share This Page