Unreal Tournament

Discussion in 'Games' started by DonkeyTron, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. DonkeyTron macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    MY unreal tournament is saying "unable to find Drawsprocket context"


    What should I do?
     
  2. chopsuey158 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Re-installing the game would probably fix that, but that'd take time. It's worth a shot if no one else can give you better advice.
     
  3. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #3
    On a similar note, I guess I should expect to never see anything from these guys, huh?

    :mad:
     
  4. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    Had this problem. What I did was go into the .ini with SimpleText (yes, bootup classic, trust me) and manually change the resolution to something lower.
     
  5. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #5
    There is a OS X version but their isn't music in the background. I play Tactial Ops with no problems. Wish there was music in there.
     
  6. DonkeyTron thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    How do i go about changing this resolution you speak of? I am looking at the unrealtournament.ini but i dont know what to change.
     
  7. Schmittroth macrumors regular

    Schmittroth

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, Astoria-Queens
    #7

    I'm pretty sure these guys are all involved with the first unreal tournament (UT99). It's a pretty different game from UT2004. But in a lot of ways it's also similar. A lot of people prefer the older game but it doesn't have any of the cool new stuff. That's where these guys come in.
     
  8. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #8
    Nope. And I have the feeling that an e-mail will not do the trick either!
     
  9. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #9
    The UTPG team is supposed to be keeping the original UT alive through new patches and whatnot after Epic has stopped working on it. Supposedly they've got a OS X Update in the works being that UT is a OS 9 game...

    I'm not entirely sure where you got the idea that they had anything to do with UT2k4.
     
  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    November 2004 is a bit too far back. I guess real work got in the way of a real Mac OS X port.
     
  11. DonkeyTron thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #11
    OK i think everyone has gotten a little off topic. Could we please go back to the subject on hand and maybe someone could help me out?
     
  12. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #12
    It's tough to tell you anything until you provide information on what you're running. UT, UT2003, UT2004? Which patch level?
     
  13. DonkeyTron thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
  14. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    In UT2004.ini, you should see this section:

    [SDLDrv.SDLClient]
    WindowedViewportX=640
    WindowedViewportY=480
    FullscreenViewportX=1280
    FullscreenViewportY=854
    MenuViewportX=640
    MenuViewportY=480
    Brightness=0.800000
    Contrast=0.700000
    Gamma=0.800000
    UseJoystick=False
    JoystickNumber=0
    IgnoreHat=False
    JoystickHatNumber=0
    CaptureMouse=True

    SDL is the graphic layer for Mac OS X and Linux.
     
  15. DonkeyTron thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #15
    OK, in the original .ini said this
    [MacDrv.MacClient]
    WindowedViewportX=640
    WindowedViewportY=480
    WindowedColorBits=16
    FullscreenViewportX=1280
    FullscreenViewportY=1024
    FullscreenColorBits=32
    Brightness=0.800000
    MipFactor=1.000000
    UseDirectDraw=True
    UseJoystick=False
    CaptureMouse=True
    StartupFullscreen=True
    CurvedSurfaces=False
    LowDetailTextures=False
    ScreenFlashes=True
    NoLighting=False
    SlowVideoBuffering=True
    DeadZoneXYZ=True
    DeadZoneRUV=False
    InvertVertical=False
    ScaleXYZ=1000.0
    ScaleRUV=2000.0
    MinDesiredFrameRate=1.000000
    Decals=False
    NoDynamicLights=True
    JoySpeedX=12.000000
    JoySpeedY=12.000000
    DeadZoneX=0.000000
    DeadZoneY=0.000000
    Doubled=0
    Skipping=0
    OSTime=0
    Speech=False
    WindowY=127
    WindowX=224
    SkinDetail=Low
    TextureDetail=Low
    IgnoreCmdKeys=0
    ParticleDensity=0
    NoFractalAnim=False

    What I did was change the
    [MacDrv.MacClient] to [SDLDrv.SDLClient]

    Now when I try to run Unreal Tournament OS X it says

    "Could not switch to new color depth:"

    What will fix that?
     
  16. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #16
    That's not Unreal Tournament (UT2004) 2004.
     
  17. jer2eydevil88 macrumors regular

    jer2eydevil88

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    I have the MAC OS X version of Unreal Tournament *(1999)* edition.

    It is pretty hardcore beta but if you don't mind playing at 1024x768 and some intermitten crashes if you play for a long while then it is for you.

    You can PM me if you want to know how / where to get it. You must already own UT for Mac so don't bother me with warez requests.

    As for the posters problem it seems that a reinstall is needed, messing with the graphic settings of UT OS X is a bad idea since its a fairly rough beta release.
     

Share This Page