Unreal Tournament

Discussion in 'Games' started by neoelectronaut, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #1
    Shouldn't I be getting pretty damn good performance out of Unreal Tournament with a Radeon 7500?
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    In Mac OS 9, sure.

    If you're talking about the Mac OS X preview code, it varies a lot from machine to machine.

    If you're talking about UT2003, not likely. It runs better on nVidia hardware than ATI.
     
  3. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
  4. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #4
    I'm talking about the OS X "port" at most I'll get a steady 40fps. Seems like it should be alot better than that.

    NVIDIA better, eh?
     
  5. Doraemon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #5
    It's a preview. Not even beta.
    What do you expect?
     
  6. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #6
    I was expecting to be able to play a 3-year old game on a brand new computer with exceedingly good results.
     
  7. Schmittroth macrumors regular

    Schmittroth

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, Astoria-Queens
    #7
    Try running Quake 3 if you want screaming performance. UTs engine is not OSX friendly. UT2003 will probably have much better performance.
     
  8. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #8
    Oh jeez. NOW you tell me. AFTER I spend 3 weeks looking for the game and buying.
     
  9. Doraemon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #9
    Well, you can't.
    As I said before, it's a preview of a discontinued project (pre-beta).

    Under OS 9 it's running fine. But I suppose your Mac doesn't boot OS 9?! (which model is it anyway?)

    The new UT OSX port will be build from the scratch. But since Ryan Gordon is pretty busy at the moment, you shouldn't expect its release anytime soon.

    Besides, UT is older than 3 years. ;)
     
  10. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #10
    Hmm..

    I've just always like UT better of Q3 anyways. Oh well, if I happen to come across Q3 somewhere for a decent price I'll pick it up.
     

Share This Page