(Unresolved, insufficient data) OS X recent apps data?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by davidlv, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. davidlv, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #1
    After cloning the internal HD to an external HD using Carbon Copy Cloner, and starting up from the cloned HD, CCC gets started up automatically. Would like to stop that, so where does OS X store that data on recently used applications?
    I looked around but can't find it. :confused:
    Edit: See post #5 below.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    When you logout there should be a checkbox in the logout window that asks if you want to reopen windows when logging back in. Uncheck that box and the apps should not restart at the next login.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #3
    That is unchecked. :eek:
    I need to tell CCC not to copy the related data, but cannot find out where the OS keeps it, plist file or some folder, wherever. :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  5. davidlv, Oct 18, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #5
    Nothing related to CCC.

    Edit: Received the following mail (in part) from the developer of Carbon Copy Cloner. The conclusion is that this issue cannot be resolved at the present time. Apple is doing something else that we don't know about.
    I don't even have (and no it is not hidden) the Library/Saved Application States folder, so obviously the relaated data is located elsewhere too.

    "You can thank Apple's "Resume" feature for that one. I really wish I could prevent this -- and believe me I've tried. Supposedly application state is stored in your home folder in Library/Saved Application States, and I exclude that folder from the backup task. That doesn't seem to be enough to prevent applications from being loaded on startup. In the case of booting from a cloned volume, it's always the applications that were running when the last backup task was running, so CCC is always in that list."
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    I guess there's stuff in the "resume" feature that confuses everyone.
     

Share This Page