Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blairh

macrumors 603
Original poster
Dec 11, 2007
I received the iPhone 5 on the first day it became available via pre-order. I've been using an iPhone exclusively since 2008. (iPhone 3G.) In 2010 I sold my iPhone 3G and upgraded to an iPhone 4.

From the start I should say that I think the iPhone 5 is a terrific phone. Extremely bright screen, best iPhone colors to date, wonderfully light, little to no lag in anything I do with it. I find it slippery with no case but I use a minimal case so it's a non-issue. Excellent photos, dual band wi-fi, LTE, it's wonderful.

Okay, that's established. Well despite all this I can't wait to try something very different. Specifically a phablet. I've demoed a few 4.7"-5" phones and while I do think that screen size is preferable for my needs, I find the Note II screen size to be what I truly want to try next. In fact the only reason I haven't purchased the Note II now is because I strongly prefer IPS screens and I think I've potentially found 'the one' with the Optimus G Pro. At this point I'm just waiting for the darn thing to be officially released in North America. Q2 is the vague answer that we have to accept for now.

Another issue, and this is a smaller one but still lingers, is that I'm starting to think that having an SD card slot and removable battery is the ideal setup. I love having all my music locally stored on my phone but every time I potentially need to restore my iPhone I have to reload all my music back onto the device. I also really like the idea of bringing an SD card on vacation and filling it up with pictures and videos that wouldn't currently fit on my iPhone 5. And the removable battery is a no-brainer for how it can be useful.