Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macster12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2004
I've been using Final Cut Express on my new Mac here for a couple of months now, but I just recently noticed that after I edit video with it, and burn the final to dvd, I noticed that part of the picture is missing! Evidently, the final video after I edit it and record it back onto my camcorder has been "zoomed in" a little bit.
In other words, it's like the video has been cropped around the edges in the final version. Is there any way to prevent this? One solution I thought about is to use the animation feature of the FCE software to "shrink" the picture a little bit in order to compensate for what it does when I print to video. But I shouldn't
have to do this, right?
If anyone has any suggestions, I'd be more than thankful.

Macster12.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
What you see in FCE (and in say the iDVD preview) is not the same as you will see on most TVs (and perhaps playback on camcorders). Try turning on the TV safe area guides. This show you what you will actually see on a TV.

If you burn the video to a DVD and watch it on a computer you see the whole thing as expected but if you watch it on a TV you can sometimes see less.

patrick0brien

macrumors 68040
Oct 24, 2002
The West Loop
-Macster12

If this is your issue, this is why FCE has Title Safe and Image Safe frames - to account for overscan (that's what the above-discussed property of televisions is called.)

Macster12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2004