Up-to-Date no box?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by fBaran, Oct 24, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #1
    I just got Panther 30mins ago :)D ), but it didn't come in a box. Just a slip with the CDs and the manual and coupons. Am I the only one? I thought I paid 20 bucks for the box too!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    #2
    i received the panther UTD without a box too. but i wasn't expecting one! to get panther for $33 CDN is a pretty sweet deal in my opinion, box or no box.. of course it would have been nice.

    i doubt that apple would ship the UTDs in the full box..
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    At home
    #3
    Shipping

    How did you get it shipped to you? In the mail or UPS?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    I recieved it this afternoon via FedEx.. upgraded.. and am using it now.

    I also only recieved the CDs and booklet... but eh.. only $20
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #6
    Are they only upgrade CDs, or are they full install CDs?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #7
    Shipped Fed Ex. I think the CDs do full install, as well as archive and just upgrade. I don't really feel like knowing, if you catch my drift. But still, 20 bucks is awesome for an upgrade. I actually got really lucky (sorta). My parents bought an eMac the 2 of Oct, but it was defective (burn mark in screen), so we returned it on the 8 and got the free upgrade. I missed out on the new eMac deals, but I got w/ edu discount so no biggy. Recent switcher. OS X rocks my WORLD!
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Fender2112

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Just in time ...

    The FedEx truck just left my office and the oddest thing happened. The driver delivered two black cats. One was in a box and the other was snuggled in an envelope. I know it's close to Halloween. These two cats will look nice perched next to my eMac and G5 with spooky music playing. I can hardly wait to get them home and feed them. WOOO HOOO !!!!!
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    I didn't see the option to archive and install or to do a clean install...

    So I just upgraded.. workin' fein so far
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    #10
    My Up-To-Date pack is happily doing an archive-and-install right now on the iMac we got it for. It seems to be the retail discs. I don't see anything calling it an upgrade...
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #11
    :-( Installed 10.3 with just upgrade - I bought my 12" PBook only 2 weeks ago haven't installed much. But now, Safari doesn't work :-(( I don't know which other apps are not working.

    The online version of Safari is 1.0, which refuses to install. Any suggestions?
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    #12
    the UTD discs can do a full install. if you click customize, there's an option for a clean install, but seeing as i don't want to reinstall all my apps, i just upgraded it. the performance on panther is amazing. all apps are much more responsive.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #13
    Box or not, you people are so lucky. Not only has my Up-to-Date not arrived, but the status is still "Open". I am green with envy. But as long as you are enjoying it, I can vicariously be happy... ;)
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    Re: Up-to-Date no box?

    If you really want Mac OS boxes, I'll dig up and send you my Mac OS 7.6, 8.0, 8.5, and 9.0 boxes. :D

    Be glad you're not adding to the wasted boxes problem. :D
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    US of A
    #15
    Very true, you're not dealing with the tree huggers today. (jp!)

    Um, could I put that upgrade CD on an iMac if i ordered it for the G5 with up-todate?

    (in the even that i wouldn't put it on the g5, b/c i am soooo against software piracy :wink:)
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #16
    To: SwitchingGeek

    Safari 1.0 does not work on 10.3.
    10.3 includes Safari 1.1
     
  17. macrumors demi-god

    Hugh

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #17
    Re: Up-to-Date no box?

    Noramlly the UP-TO-DATE packages do not come in the original box. Mac OS 10.1 upgrade came in a nice folder, but in the past they only came with book (coupons if it was a newer OS), and manuals.

    -Hugh
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Genie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    heaven
  19. macrumors 6502

    Mr. G4

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    #19
    You have to have OSX installed on that patition though, you cannot just install on a blanck patition.

     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Phil Of Mac

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    Washington State University
    #20
    Full instal CD's. But the first one says "Upgrade" on it.

    FedEx, padded envelope.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    #21
    So does anyone know what it is that won't let you install the Up-to-date discs on a freshly formatted drive? I hate to think that when I want to change my partitions that I have to install 10.2 and then install the Up-to-date discs to have panther up and running.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #23
    the up-to-date cds are exactly the same as the cds that come in the retail box.
     

Share This Page