update OS to Tiger or Leopard? on "silver doors" G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by twodogsdad, Nov 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #1
    Hello,
    My first post here.

    I want to upgrade my OS from 10.3.9. (I lost my install disks.) I'm trying to decide if I should upgrade to 10.4 or 10.5. and I'm looking for some recommendations regarding performance. Specifically, which OS, if either, would be a better choice.

    Thanks,

    Cal
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #2
    ibook G4

    I don't know what a "silver doors" G4 is, but I have an iBook G4 and 10.5 seems zippier to me than 10.4 did. Sorry - no benchmarks or anything fancy. I spend a lot of time in MS Office and upgraded to the new version of that around the same time, so that may be some of the "zip", but the finder feels zippier too.

    CB
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #3
  4. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #5
    Ooops. Yes, it is the Mirror Doors model. It is a dual 1.25 GHz G4 with 1.25 GB ram.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #6
    Leopard will run very good on that. Try upgrading to 2gb of ram too and everything will be a lot smoother with more apps running at the same time.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #8
    Mostly all G4s running with more than one processor (including dual 500 MHz and 867s) will run Leopard at a fast enough clip to be fairly acceptable. Helps even more to have a Core Image compatible video card so Leopard can offload a lot of the graphics work to the GPU.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #9
    My Powerbook G4's run leopard faster than Tiger (except booting)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #10
    About the graphics card... My computer has the Apple dual monitor, of which I'm currently only using one but plan on adding another, option. I've pasted my info below from my system profiler.

    Will this configuration not work as well as buying a new graphics card? I don't do any gaming to speak of. But I occasionally run modeling and simulations for work but I mostly like having my machine run well.

    Thanks.

    ATY,RV250:

    Type: display
    Bus: AGP
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x4966
    Revision ID: 0x0001
    ROM Revision: 113-99702-131

    Display:

    Type: display
    Display Type: CRT
    VRAM (In Use): 64 MB
    Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 60 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes

    ATY,Pheonix_B:

    Status: No display connected
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #11
    With only a 64mb video card, adding a 2nd monitor would split that in 2, giving each only 32mb......at that would lead to very crappy gui performance under leopard 4 sure.....
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #12
    That's an ATI Radeon 9000, it won't support Core Image; you need something like the ATI 9600 / 9800 they're selling at OWC, but if you don't want to spend $200+ then you may have to find a good PC card to flash.

    When you have a Core Image compatible card under Tiger or Leopard much of the graphic updating in any window or application that follows Apple's rules is offloaded to the GPU, allowing more cycles available on the CPU; end effect is your Mac 'feels' faster
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #13
    Thanks

    Thanks for all the help. I ended up buying a copy of 10.5.4 and I'll look into a new graphics card. I'll post if I come across anything interesting.

    thanks again to all of you.

    Cal
     

Share This Page