Updated Emac or the Mini?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Willy S, May 9, 2005.

1. Willy S macrumors 6502

I and my wife are in the market for some fruit and have narrowed our choice to either the Mini or the newly updated Emac. We have a PC with Suse-Linux and XP on it and we will be using it as the second computer afterwards.

The reason why we want an Apple is that we are going to edit some videos with it and Linux can´t beat Apple in that field. Also, we would like to install Photoshop and other programmes so we can finally say good bye to M$ after a long time a love-hate relationship with M$, just without the love.

I have never used a Mac before so I would like to know from knowledgeble users which computer is a better buy? We are not particular fans of CRTs but we could make an execption if the Emac is a more capable computer, e.g with audio input (we use Skype alot,) faster hdd, more graphics memory (don´t know it it makes any difference.)...but Emac is supposed to by noisy and bulky. And we plan to upgrade the ram to 1GB.

So which computer would you buy today?

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

The eMac has a much better video card and a 'proper' hard drive whereas the mini has simply a notebook hard drive which is limited to 80GB according to Apple and 100GB according to the after-market and will be much slower.

I reckon the eMac may represent the better buy at the moment but have you thought of saving just a little more to get one of the iMacs with a significantly better graphics card, screen and processor?

3. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

FadeToBlack

If you must pick between the eMac and Mac Mini, I recommend the eMac. I got one back in December and so far, it's been the best computer I've ever had.

4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew