Updating Jailbroken Factory Unlocked IPhone 3GS to iOS 6

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Sid1397, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #1
    I have a factory unlocked iPhone 3GS with iOS 4.1 Jailbroken with Cydia. When I am updating to iOS 6 I am getting stuck in initial setup . It says that no cellular network found . I have restored it to iOS 4.1 but pls help how to update to iOS 6.1 !!!!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    You have to update through iTunes on a computer. You can't update a jailbroken phone OTA. If you're trying through a computer already, then I'm not sure.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #3
    You would need the SHSH saved for iOS 6.1 to restore. Otherwise iOS 6.1.3 is your only option to go to.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    PsstGreek is right, I didn't read your post fully. Unless you have the SHSH blobs saved, you cannot update to 6.1. The only option would be updating to 6.1.3 through iTunes.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #5
    No , this isn't the problem !!! When iOS 6 had'nt released the also it was'nt updating to iOS 5 !! Same problem !! Any solutions !! Is there a problem with the baseband or something !!
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    Dude, calm down :cool: Do you have the iPad baseband (6.15.00) on your 3GS?

    You probably couldn't upgrade to iOS 5 when you wanted because Apple wasn't signing it anymore, just like they aren't signing 6.1
     
  7. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #8
    Yes the iPad baseband !!! Is the problem related to it !! I bought it from apple factory unlocked !!
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #9
    why do you have the iPad baseband on a factory unlocked iPhone?...OMFG
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #10
    What's with all the !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

    If you bought the iPhone already factory unlocked, why put the iPad baseband on it? Now, you need to use redsn0w to take it off.
     

Share This Page