Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SC68Cal

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Feb 23, 2006
Hello everyone! My name is Sean, I'm a student at Temple University and a part time writer for http://www.68caliber.com

I was a pretty heavy Windows user until I met my Roomate, who has basically turned me over to Apple products. I picked up a job with Computer services a few weeks ago, and basically fixed up an old PowerMac G4 (Gigabit) and now have it running in (semi) good shape. OSX is a bit dated (10.2) and most of the apps (iTunes, iPhoto etc...) are really dated and need an update.

Now here is my dillemma. Apparently there are upgrade chips that you can purchase that would increase my processing power on the G4 (from dual 500mhz) to say high as dual 1.8 GHZ.

A thought crossed my mind, the Mac Mini costs about the same as some processor upgrades, and I will get not only a faster processor but also a good CD combo drive and faster memory.

These are the abbreviated specs for the G4 Tower:
2x G4 500mhz
OS X 10.2
4x 128 PC100 RAM
DVD-RAM Drive
80 Gig HD

Off the cuff, I'll probably need the following for the G4 Tower
OSX Update
USB 2.0 PCI Card

And probably down the line, a processor upgrade.

Otherwise, I could purchase the Mac Mini.

My question is this: Which would you do? buy a mac mini or get a new processor for the current machine?

Thank you everyone!

EDIT: I'd also like to include my usage habits to help everyone get an idea of what I do.
Programs used (highest occurance to lowest)
AIM Client
iTunes
Picasa (or iPhoto)
Firefox
Photoshop
Dreamweaver
Abyss Webserver (Runs in background)

Essentially, I do a little of everything. Probably not nearly enough to justify the raw power of a G5 tower, but enough. I do run most of my applications off a laptop (that I had before fixing the g4 tower that was just a 1.4 GHZ centrino with 512MB memory and a 80 gig hard drive)

tjwett

macrumors 68000