Upgrade SD Shows to HD?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by slate1, Sep 9, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #1
    Haven't been able to upgrade to iTunes 8 yet - curious though if there's a way to upgrade prior purchased seasons of shows (Lost, for example) to HD without purchasing all over again? Apple did this when they introduced iTunes Plus and I was hoping they'd do it with the TV shows too.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    I am wondering the same thing, although I haven't seen the option yet. I have 2 seasons of House and 24 that need some upgrading.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #3
    Not yet. I was wondering this same thing. I suppose I can buy the show's again but that seems kinda lame imo.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #4
    yeah no kidding, i'm not gonna buy much else from iTunes unless it's in HD. now that i've been spoiled and seen whats possible and what's most likely coming, it's hard to justify buying a SD video.

    i don't wanna pay for dexter and lost to update, not to mention the titles to follow.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #5
    Especially since you get an SD copy for free when you purchase the HD episode...

    I'm willing to pay to upgrade - but not full price...
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #6
    Yeah I agree, I'm waiting to see if Apple adds this before I buy any of my show's for a second time.
     
  7. Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #7
    I'm curious about this as well. I purchased the Bones season pass this past week, now it's available in HD, I want that instead! As well as the rest of the seasons of lost, bones, and house!
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #8
    I reported a problem with one of my previous seasons and posed the question there, I'll post the reply from Apple when I get it.

    Everyone should do this, they will see the trend and might consider offering it.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    #9
    Just did the same!
     
  10. Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #10
    Just reported the "problem" to apple as well!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #11
    This would be a very nice option I would definitely use!
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #12
    Is there a way to search for movies and TV shows by HD? When is the HD content going to be available, I see nothing yet.
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #13
    Go to the TV Shows main page - there are several links.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #14
    I see the easy link to HD TV shows, what about movies in HD? I cannot see them organized like that.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #15
    Movies in HD are still Apple TV only AFAIK.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #16
    Thought I'd bump this thread once again and see if anyone heard back from Apple? I did go ahead and purchase an episode of Lost in HD and it looks quite good - I'd upgrade all my seasons if they made it reasonable to do so.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #17
    And still, lots of hit TV shows (My Name is Earl, et al) are not available in HD.

    But NBC is releasing Knight Rider in HD? Pu-lease.

    I want to be able to upgrade my Lost seasons to HD, too!
     

Share This Page