Upgrade to Gigabit Network

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Philgr, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #1
    Im currently running my hone network on a standard network, but i realised i have several bits of kit that are gigabit compatible eg, AEBS, Imac, PS3

    My router does not have a gigabit port same as my network switch in the loft.

    if i upgraded the router and my network switch would i see the benefits, eg, faster surfing, file TX etc..

    if so its a trip to PC world today :)
     
  2. macrumors demi-goddess

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/
    #2
    Unless your Internet connection is greater than 100Mb you'll see no increase in surfing or web stuff.

    You would benefit if you copy large amounts from one computer to another.

    it depends how important file copying across computers is to you.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #3
    Agree. Not much chance that you internet connection is anywhere close to maxing out your 100MB network. However, if you want faster transfers between computers one option is to just get a gigbit switch. Run all you gigabit devices from the switch and then connect the switch to router. Gigabit internal network for less than $50!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #4
    Well i made the trip today and picked up a Gigabit switch for £35 and a new Router.

    I have not seen an increase in internet speeds but my PS3 & media server is deff a bit better and a nice surprise was the realization that my NAS drive has a gigabit connection, i did a test tx and it deff zips along

    not a bad upgrade

    Phil G
     
  5. -hh
    macrumors 68020

    -hh

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    NJ Highlands, Earth
    #5
    FWIW, I did essentially the same upgrade ~6 months ago.

    And FYI for anyone considering doing something similar, here's a network map that I recently put together...the old "picture is worth 1000 words":

    [​IMG]


    -hh
     
  6. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Most of the recent cables are Cat 5e, but you need cat 5e or better to achieve better gigabit ethernet speeds.

    Also, unless you have the latest fast harddrive, you need RAID to saturate the gigabit ethernet speed.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #7
    uncanny :)

    i just done this of my network

    [​IMG]

    its only when you put it down like this you realise how much kit you have :)
     

Share This Page