Upgrade to Lion, experience Chome using 90% of your CPU

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by 0dev, May 11, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #1
    That's what happened to me anyway. I did a "clean upgrade" from Snow Leopard to Lion (backed my stuff up with Time Machine, wiped my MacBook's HD, clean installed Lion, restored my home folder, apps, and system settings during the post-install system setup) and it all seems to be working fine apart from Chrome which likes to use all of my CPU. It often happens randomly after I've been using it for a few minutes and only stops when I quit Chrome.

    I've tried repairing my permissions and rebooting, no luck. My extensions are HTTPS Everywhere, AdBlock Plus, Reddit Enhancement Suite, s/keyboard/leopard, YouTube Ratings Preview, and (these ones are by Google) Google +1 Button and Keep My Opt-Outs. The issue doesn't seem to correlate with going on any particular website.

    I guess the next step would be to reset the whole app but I'd prefer not to lose bookmarks, extensions, settings and such, so if there's anything else I can try that'd be great.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Did you try disabling all your extensions? If the problem goes away, re-enable them one-by-one to see which one it is.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    I might have to try that. It seems that relaunching Chrome seems to fix the problem temporarily for now anyway, but next time I'll disable some extensions and see what happens. It all worked fine on SL.

    In the mean time, are there any Chrome related files I can remove without having to set things up again? Caches, plist files, stuff like that. If one of those got corrupted it could be causing my problem methinks.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #4
    If you haven't patched up to 10.7.4, do so...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    I was on 10.7.4, installing all the updates was the first thing I did.

    I fixed this problem in the end by just clearing cookies and plugin data. Not seen the issue since :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    The issue's decided to come back again now, anyone got advice? :confused:
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    Use Safari?
     

Share This Page