Upgrade yikes to g4 question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by iZach, May 11, 2005.

  1. iZach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    #1
    Ok this is probably a stupid question lol
    but, I bought a cheap b/w g3 on ebay
    i plan to upgrade it to a g4
    now on the sides it says G3 in big
    can you like buy a replacement from anywhere to make it say G4? has anyone done this themselves?
    lol
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    I haven't heard anything like that for the G4. The G4's didn't say G4 on the side as you probably already knew. Just consider your PowerMac G3, a sleeper when it comes to power! :p
     
  3. iZach thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    #3
    no i meant like, if i put a g4 processor in my blue and white, a new side thing to make the g3 say g4
    lol
     
  4. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #4

    I did mine by hand (no pictures yet).

    I printed out a large Block letter "G4" on white paper, set it on top of, and taped it to a sheet of adhesive backed vinyl, and cut out my letters. It took me about 10 minutes each side (super anal about it) to cut them out. I then had to take the plastic off the sides of my G3, and remove the old G3 Graphics, then I placed my new set on the sides :)
     
  5. iZach thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    #5

    thats awesome!!!
    post pics
    lol
     

Share This Page