Upgraded G3 or G4 for Jaguar

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by gdh, Sep 26, 2002.

1. gdh macrumors newbie

Jul 16, 2002
    I'm a college student trying to save money for a DC internship this summer and am thinking about selling my Vaio R505tl slimtop to save money.

For now I'll be using an old Powermac 6100 (which I should be getting tomorrow - I bought it for $5.50 on Ebay with a monitor, keyboard, and mouse). I can purchase an old pci mac very inexpensively - which I'll have to do if I choose to update a mac.

I'd like to update a powermac to run Jaguar. Here's where I need help - would it be better to upgrade a pci powermac to a G3 400 (or possibly 450) with 1mb L2 cache or a G4 350 with 1mb L2 cache.

These are the only processor upgrades that I can afford. I'll probably have a hard drive that's between 2 and 6 gigs large and somewhere between 128 and 256 megs of ram.

I won't be using processor heavy tasks - mainly word processing, web browsing, and maybe iTunes.

Also, will Jaguar be compatible with the video capabilities of an older powermac, and is there anything that can be done to allow Jaguar to support an internal floppy? If I can't use Jaguar then I'll consider updating anyway to use os 9.

Thanks for the help. The powemac 6100, although very outdated, is my first mac - I'm sure it won't be my last.
  2. alex_ant macrumors 68020

Feb 5, 2002
    All up in your bidness
    For iTunes, word processing, and web browsing, I would say go with the G3. A 400MHz G3 will likely give you slightly better overall performance than a 350MHz G4 at non-AltiVec tasks. I'm not sure how Jaguar has changed things vs. 10.1, but in my experience, it's tough to tell a 500MHz G3 and a 550MHz G4 apart when doing basic stuff like that in OS X 10.1. More important than the CPU for you will be the amount of RAM you have. You'll be in for a very painful experience if you settle for 128MB... even 256MB isn't all that pleasant.