Upgraded RAM and now it's slower

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PYR0M310N, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    I have just upgraded the RAM in my iBook 64, iMac 64 and iMac G5 all by up 512MB.

    The G5 now works like a dream and is as fast as it was new.

    BUT.... the iBook and G4 are definatley much slower. the G4 is now on 764mb of RAM and the iBook is on 1GB. Any ideas how to sort this out?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    I think your problem is coincidental with the installation of the new RAM,

    However, we would need to know exactly what RAM you installed in each machine. If you put in RAM that is the wrong speed for the machine, or RAM that is defective or not Mac compatible, then you could be getting slowdowns.

    Otherwise, the cause and effect don't make sense. "I closed the window and a breeze started coming in"

    Need more information.
     
  3. PYR0M310N thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    The RAM i choice was through crucial's memory upgrade thing, so i presume that was correct. I strongly doubt that it was coincidental as it has started happening on two machines once the RAM was installed.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    So you bought the Crucial brand RAM with the part numbers that were supplied by their configurator as correctf or each of the machines? Please verify.

    What happens when you take the RAM back out, do the machines speed up?

    Where specifically are they slower;
    booting up?
    switching from program to program?
    choosing menus and doing operations within programs?
    All programs or some specific programs?
     
  5. PYR0M310N thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #5
    i Bought the RAM from crucial, using what their database says is correct.

    I have now taken the RAM out of the G4 and it has gone back to its original faster speed
     
  6. PYR0M310N thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #6
    Just rung Crucial about it, who have said it may be defective so am returning it, if not they will refund it. Would dfinatley recommend crucial to anybody as they have been very helpful
     

Share This Page