upgrading a g3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by andyland, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. andyland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Location:
    melbourne australia
    #1
    i have just been given an iMac g3, lucky me, and want to upgrade it to osx.
    at the moment it has os9.2 and 512mb ram.
    my aim is to network it with my imac g5 ppc and use it to download bittorrent files.
    i have a copy of osx, is it as easy as putting it over the top of os9.2?
    any help would be appreciated.
    andy
     
  2. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    upgrade to os x

    I run OS X on a couple Bondi Blue imacs along with my powerbook 17"... I had a little trouble getting the old ones running, look at the links below for a few tips, the firmware upgrade was the worst part (and not that bad) also found that if you throw a big drive in it the first partition in my casee had to be below 10 gig for it to allow install..

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58374

    D
     
  3. kondspi macrumors regular

    kondspi

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    It's really simple. You can even install OS X DVDs over firewire onto CD-based Macs!
     
  4. andyland thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Location:
    melbourne australia
    #4
    upgrading a g3

    thanks for the advice. will give it a go.
    if i have any probs i know where to go for help.

    andy
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yep

    Upgrade the firmware and install OS X right over everything. I installed Remote Desktop as well as use my Snow iMac as a music/movie/backup/bit torrent server.

    512 ram really is THE sweet spot.
     

Share This Page