Upgrading a G4 processor.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by LloydieDB9, Nov 23, 2006.

1. LloydieDB9 macrumors newbie

LloydieDB9

Hello all.

I'm new to this wonderful thing that is 'Mac' so please forgive the silly question.:eek:

My budget is strictly very limited and I am looking at a G4 on ebay with a 400mhz CPU. cheap!
    I have also seen a quick silver processor at 733mhz. Also cheap.

Can this be installed, is it easy, am I mad to attempt such a thing?

Also, it currently runs OS9, is there an option to upgrade somewhere on the web to a current version of OSX but not nessecarily the latest one. Again, budget is of the essence.

Thanks all.

Steve

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

That's no answer at all to someone coming to a forum seeking advice. Complete waste of space. :mad:

OP: What I don't quite understand is what you mean. Do you want to upgrade your existing Mac or buy a cheap G4?

The 733's run OSX reasonably well but are slow; we have a couple running OS 10.3 (Panther) at work that have been relegated to server status. If you hunt around the Marketplace on this forum or eBay you might find a cheap version of Panther to run on them.

These machines are OK for web-surfing, word-processing and the like but will choke on more demanding tasks.

Edit: If you mean dropping in a new processor card, then it's awkward for someone with no experience at all; it often means booting into OS9 and updating the firmware. Still, it's not overly difficult.

3. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007

Not sure how strict your budget is, but I got my 867MHz Quicksilver Power Mac G4 off of eBay the other week for $207. :)

A 733MHz G4 would be okay- if you have patience to wait for things to load. I am going to be upgrading mine to a 1.6GHz+ G4 from PowerLogix soon. :)

4. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

SmurfBoxMasta

A) If you want to buy that G4 off ebay, be certain it is a Sawtooth (AGP video) and not a Yikes model (PCI video)