Upgrading A Imac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wildfire, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. wildfire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #1
    I will recive my new iMac Tommarow, Have Built my own PC's for several years.
    Wondered if there will be a way for me to put a Dual 2 Core in my Imac later on or am I stuck with what I get.
    Dont get me wrong I am looking forward to my Imac, but hearing great things about the Dual 2 Cores also.
    Thanks in advance for any replies:)
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
  3. wildfire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #3
    Thanks

    I noticed that just after I posted this and soory I just got off a 12 hr night Shift and am kinda tired that may be why I also missed it.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    People have done it, the iMac (notice spelling, you'll get ripped to shreds on here if you keep calling it an "Imac") has a socketed processor so removal of the Core Duo and replacement with a Core 2 is possible. I don't know how easy it will be though.

    The video "card" - it's not a card but a collection of components soldered to the logic board - is not upgradeable. The HDD is, the optical drive probably is, the RAM certainly is. Ram is easy, the other parts are more difficult.
     
  5. wildfire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #5
    Thanks again

    K thanks I will wait for some time and as the price for the CPU's will decline I am sure
     

Share This Page