Upgrading from OS 9 to OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dane D., Jan 4, 2006.

  1. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #1
    I was given the go ahead on upgrading our Macs. A couple of questions concerning OS X and licenses. I maintain eight Macs (4-G4 Desktops, 2-G3 iMacs, 1-G4 PowerBook 667). Which version of OS X to purchase Panther or Tiger? How many OS X do I need to purchase or can I purchase one and install on all? My plan is to install an second internal HD which I can load OS X onto and still be able to boot off existing internal HD for OS 9. Also concerned about RAM, the iMacs only have 384MB (128+256), used as email and internet browsing, PDF files for client approval. The desktop units and PowerBook run Quark, Photoshop, Illustrator and Acrobat, have 2@512MB, 640MB, 896MB and 1.7GB would more RAM help? Open to suggestions.:confused:
     
  2. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    All of your Macs have sufficient RAM for OS X.

    All should run the latest version -- Tiger -- with one possible exception.

    The tray-loading G3 iMacs will not run Tiger, but they will run Panther. The slot-loading iMacs will run Tiger. So it depends upon what revision iMacs you use. Keep your tasks to a minimum on the G3 iMacs considering they only have 384mb.

    You'll need to purchase licenses for every Mac.
     
  3. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #3
    Also, unless HD space is an issue, you can go ahead and install OSX on the internal drives. You can still boot back into OS9 if you wish.

    EDIT: The point is, you don't need a separate volume.
     
  4. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #4
    I would go for Tiger.

    You'll need to buy a license for each computer, and Apple sells a Family Pack which I think has 4-5 licenses. Alternately you can ask Apple what they will do for you, I imagine they will sell you 8 licenses.

    But the iMacs may need to run Panther, as others have said.
     
  5. Dane D. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #5
    Just was reading Apple's OS X page...

    Just was reading Apple's OS X page and the Family Pack (5 licenses) is the best deal but we are a business and according to the page that is frowned on. I would the additional HDs because our files are quite large and the extra space would be nice to have. I checked all the machines and only one doesn't have a DVD drive. So I checked OWC's site and they sell SuperDrives, is this a straight swap on a Digital Audio G4/466? The iMacs are running OS 10.2.8 and OS 9.2.2 (G3/500), they could move to Panther without a hitch I assume. One other concern is QuarkXPress v6.x, is it problematic? We currently have v4.11 and 10 years worth of QuarkXPress files. I've read other peoples' comments and talked to some pre-press guys, seems to be all over the place.
     
  6. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #6
    Answering what I can:

    The DVD-R110 that OWC is selling is not 100% natively supported under OS X. It will function fine as a DVD-ROM. But in order to burn discs you will need to either use Toast or Dragon Burn, or install the PatchBurn utility which will allow native burning (I think; make sure you read this info page thoroughly before buying). It's not a big deal, but something to be aware of.

    EDIT: Not sure but all these compatibility issues may have been solved with Tiger...anybody to confirm?

    I have a Pioneer DVR-107D in my Digital Audio tower. It is not a dual-layer DVD burner but it is 100% compatible with OS X, as is (I believe) the Pioneer DVR-108. If you can find one of these new they should work as well.

    If you need to run Quark in the real OS 9 (not Classic), you can always make the Mac that runs it dual-boot. That way you can boot into 9 when needed.
     
  7. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #7
    Yeah, the family pack isn't intended for businesses.


    Yes. It should work no problem with Tiger. If you decide to run Panther, you might need a program called patchburn.
     

Share This Page