Upgrading MP 1,1 CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Omnius, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #1
    When upgrading a 1,1 mac pro from 2x dual processors to 2x quad processors, is it necessary to flash it to a 2,1? Or is it simply a matter of swap the cpus and that's it?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #2
    You simply swap the processors. It will still say it's a 1,1 mac pro though - I'm not sure if flashing anything might change this but it won't make any difference to the performance of the computer.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #3
    Some people have reported problems after the swap until they flashed to 2,1 firmware. Others - like myself - did not experience problems with the 1,1 firmware. I suspect it may be connected to CPU's with older steppings being used by the people who where forced to flash.

    If you want to be on the safe side, flash before you swap.

    In either case you should go for CPU's with G0 stepping.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
  5. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #6
    And the two common cpu upgrades are
    2 x5365 chips (8 x 3.0 ghz)(2x $200)
    2 x5355 chips (8 x 2.66 ghz)(2x $75)

    correct?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #7
    Correct. The x5355 are much more common due to their superior price/performance ratio.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #8
    What are the differences in terms of geek bench scores?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #9
    Negligible in terms of "can actually be felt in daily usage".
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Lesser Evets

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #10
    I did an upgrade to BSEL 1.86 processors, and while the daily routine stuff like iCal, Safari, Mail, Acrobat, etc. isn't a dime's difference, all the high-processing stuff definitely improved. Video work was cut in half after the upgrade.

    Geekbench went from circe 5100 to circa 8000, if I remember right. I think I actually got much higher in 64-bit.

    If you can upgrade some cheap processors and BSEL mod them, you can really zoom. I'll probably do the 5365 upgrade in another year or two and keep this tower as a spare machine for side working and as a video server.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #11
    If I'm not mistaken, BSEL mod doesn't work for the x5355 or x5365 correct?

    ----------

    I was interested in some sort of benchmark scores. The difference between 4 cores and 8 cores will be substantial enough for my purposes but I was thinking a benchmark difference between

    4 core 2.66
    8 core 2.66
    8 core 3.0
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #12
    As you mentioned Geekbench i thought you'd be aware of Primatelabs' website with its Geekbench result browser.

    The 4-core 5150 (i.e. standard 1,1) scores on average 5.289, the 4-core 5160 @3GHz averages at 5.912 and the 8-core x5365 (3GHz) averages at 9.769.

    I could not find official results for the x5355@2.66GHz (they may be there though - did not search thoroughly), but i can tell that those were just shy of 9.000 (32bit) on my own 1,1. I once managed to get around 9.300 somehow (no programs running), but i'd say a solid 9.000 is a given.

    In 64bit (test software has to be purchased) afair the scores were a couple hundred points higher, so some people managed to break the 10.000 barrier.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #13
    How do I remove the heat sinks? Are these torque screws? What kind are they? Where can i get these tools?
     
  14. GermanyChris, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012

    macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #14
    they're allen and you need one about 7" long if I remember correctly.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #15
    I saw elsewhere a 3 mm allen will work as you indicated. But is there a handle size thats too long? I see 9" long allen wrenches are for sale. I'd hate to buy one thats too long too.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #16
    I say you should be good with a 9 inchet. You can always cut it to your liking. With a tool that ends up shorter than needed, you will have a hard time making it longer. In most cases longer is better.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #17
    I lack the tools to cut it so, size matters in both directions.
     
  18. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here

Share This Page