Upgrading my Powerbook :(

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by eVolcre, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. eVolcre macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #1
    Well, I have been saying that my Rev A 867 Powerbook 12" would last me a year while I wait for the new MACS. Doesn't look like it anymore. It's getting REALLY slow. Lots of beachballs. My usage is as follows, email, safari, msn messenger, AIm and dvd player. I typically have about 20 tabs open in safari, a coupl eof MSn chats and a word doc or two. it is taking forever to switch between application to the extent that my work laptop feels faster and thats only a T23.

    I thought I would upgrade the memory but I did a search and my machine can only accept 640 megs and it's maxed out allready.

    Any ideas? Would upgrading to Tiger help at all? The only thing I'm leery of is that I don't want to delete everything and do a new install. Just want to upgrade it to i don't lose my pics, music, files etc. And I've read that a upgrade causes problems?

    I kow if I pick up an ultralight PC laptop right now I probably won't have the cash to buy a new powerbook next year. So I need to squeeze a year out of my current machine but I'm not sure how.

    eV
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
  3. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #3
    I checked crucial.com and it said that the maximum memory that my machine can take is 640 megs. Is that incorrect?
     
  4. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    Yes, that is incorrect. Apple's published specs say it'll accept up to 640 MB, but that's only because 1 GB chips weren't widely available at the time. Your PowerBook will accept a 1 GB chip, for a total of 1.12 GB RAM. I also agree with CanadaRAM, check out some of the utilities to clean out the excesses that build up over time. I use Cocktail, works great.
     
  5. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #5
    So how do I do this? Order a 1 gb chip and replace what ever is in it now? Does it have one slot or two? And if I throw in a gig chip how does that give me 1.12 gigs of memory?
     
  6. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #6
    Your Powerbook is fine.

    If you are getting beachballs all the time, you should consider doing a fresh install anyways.

    Up the RAM if you want, but something tells me Apple won't sanction that if something goes wrong.

    Lastly Tiger will help you out lots. It did for me on my G3 iBook. I even did an Upgrade not a fresh install or archive install. Works just fine.

    If you don't want to upgrade but do a clean install, then do the following:

    Disk Utility -> Create an Image from Folder -> Target Folder: Home dir -> Compressed Image.

    Save it to the desktop.

    From there, copy it on CD or if it is too big and external HDD (or another computer on a network).

    Do a fresh install of Tiger (or Panther) and then simply copy the contents of your Home directory from your backup to your current one.

    I would be a little weary of the Library folder though, as perhaps maybe some of your Beachball issues are from things in the Library folder that shouldn't be there...just a thought, I am no UNIX expert though.

    Mike
     
  7. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #7
    There will be one slot either under your keyboard or underneath the Poowerbook.

    Mike
     
  8. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    You have 128 MB soldered to the motherboard. The 1GB chip (replacing the old 512 MB chip) will give 1.12 gigs of memory.

    Edit: I would second the advice to switch to firefox, especially if you routinely open 20 tabs.
     
  9. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    i think the 20 tabs might be instrumental in some of the slowness.....
     
  10. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #11

    OK - I understand the RAM part. I think I will upgrade it because I'm out of warranty anyway. Not like APPLE is going to cover anything. I also understand the disk utility part where I run some programs to free it up.

    Not sure about eh TIGER install. So this HOME directory will have all my documents, pictures and music? But that will be too big for any disk and I don't have access to a a network. Any way I can get by with a upgrade to TIGER - seems like the easiest option - or would I be better off just staying with Jaguar?

    The 20 tabs may be an issue. But ehre's times when I have Safari closed and I still see the damn spinning ball.
     
  11. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #12
    20 tabs? What the heck are you surfing man? That's a load o tabs open...
     
  12. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #13

    Porn. :p

    Just kidding. Well, it really isn't that many. The way I surf is I hit a forum and load up about 15 to 20 threads that i want to read and respond to in the background. And then go from one to the other. See what I mean? And I keep three tabs open - one for my personal webmail, the other for the school webmail and the last for the office webmail when I'm on the road. And I just hit refresh every 10 mins or so.
     
  13. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #14
    OK, so I found cocktail and downloaded it. Now how do I use it? what tests do i run?
     
  14. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #15
    FIGURED it out. Running the PILOT option right now. It's been going for a good 10 mins allready.

    Is firefo that much better than SAFARI? Will it transfer all my bookmarks, autofills, passwords and usernames over from SAFARI? It's too muh trouble if it doesnt
     
  15. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #16
    OK I ran cocktail and it SEEMS to have made a difference. Things seem a little snappier. Any other utilities I can run. This is fun.
     
  16. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #17
    I had to post an update. I ran COCKTAIL and then also repaired permissions using DISKCOPY in the utilities folder. The difference is incredible. I mean it just feels so muh snappier. I'm going to go ahead and up the memory and also upgrade to Tiger. I need to run this PB until the new ones get released and that's at least a year away. TIGER would be a good investment.

    But, thanks again. This really seems to have worked. I wish cocktail would give you a detailed report on what it did. I would have loved to see the junk that was clogging up my system.

    eV
     
  17. MacHarne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia, U.S.A.
    #18
    Are you guys sure that it will accept and use that extra RAM? Both of these links say it maxes out at 640MB of RAM.

    EveryMac.com

    Apple History - follow Family history on right side

    I know computers can technically have more RAM than they are feasibly able to use, but just because the chips will fit and may run partially I was not aware that they would be used to their full potential.
     
  18. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #19
    Yeah I'm sure. I've been doing this for a little while.... like about 16 years.. ;)
    Here's a supplier in the USA
    http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1106
     
  19. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #20

    So to recap, I follow the link you sent me and buy the 1 gig chip, right? the one that costs 155? what happens to the chip inside my machine now? Is that a complete waste or can I use it for something else?
     
  20. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #21
    Yes
    You can sell it to an iBook G4 owner. It's a PC2100 so it won't go in a newer Powerbook.
     
  21. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #22
    Cool. Thanks.

    i wonder if i could use the 1 gig chip down the road when the new PB's are released. oh well, 155 isn't bad even if i dont recover it.
     
  22. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #23
    If this is a concern to you, get the PC2700 Samsung module for $169
    http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1169
    This module will fit your machine and all currently made Aluminum Powerbooks.
    Whether or not a future Powerbook uses PC2700 or goes to a new memory standard is not known, but it is predictable that Apple will go to DDR-2 or a newer standard at some point as prices fall on the newer technology.
     

Share This Page