Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JDN

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 7, 2006
Lund Sweden {London England}
This is a bit of forward thinking, but i need to ask or otherwise ill forget.
Ive got a MPB (15" 2.0Ghz, 1G RAM) and when Leopard comes out i would like to upgrade to it as ive heard the cost for the upgrade software isnt going to be that expensive and im a student, so hopefully it will be cheaper still!

My question is, when you upgrade, do you lose everything on the computer? Is some kind of hard drive format carried out?

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
You can upgrade to Leopard without wiping anything, although some people (such as myself) prefer to format just to "clean up" the system.

thworple

macrumors 6502
Oct 20, 2005
Sussex, England
Ahem. I'm sure you meant Leopard! Panther was OS X ver. 10.3, and predates the current 10.4 Tiger edition.

And there are several options you are given by the installer when upgrading the OS. You can wipe the drive if you wish, or you can do a simple upgrade, which keeps your files and settings as they were initially. Although, as many here will tell yuou, its always best to back-up important files before the install, just to be on the safe side!

MacBoobsPro

macrumors 603
Jan 10, 2006
JDN said:
This is a bit of forward thinking, but i need to ask or otherwise ill forget.
Ive got a MPB (15" 2.0Ghz, 1G RAM) and when Panther comes out i would like to upgrade to it as ive heard the cost for the upgrade software isnt going to be that expensive and im a student, so hopefully it will be cheaper still!

My question is, when you upgrade, do you lose everything on the computer? Is some kind of hard drive format carried out?

Not sure if it was a typo but Panther is already out :D We are currently using Tiger 10.4 and awaiting Leopard 10.5. Panther was 10.3 and Jaguar was 10.2.