Upgrading Powerbook G4 (Titanium) RAM

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sail, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #1
    Hi, still pretty new to Macs, but loving my journey so far!

    I would like to upgrade my 2 x modules of 256MB RAM, SODIMM, SDRAM, PC133 to 2 x 512MB modules... or a 1GB one?

    Does this mean it can't take - 512Mb PC3200 DDR SODIMM?

    Also, I flipped my PB over and unscrewed the back, but couldn't find where the modules would fit. Can anyone help with a diagram/pic?

    Thanks a lot in advance!

    Sail
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    You can only put two 512mb modules in for one gig total. You lift up the keyboard from the top two tabs (go to pbfixit.com for a diagram) and take out the two 256mbs and plop in the new ones.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #3
    Great stuff!

    Thanks for this! Ppl here are helpful as ever!

    Sail
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Monterey,CA
    #4
    Titanium Powerbooks can't take DDR SODIMM!
    You need to get PC133 SDRAM SODIMM!
    And yes, 2x512MB sticks is the max you can put in.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #5
    Thanks - this is something I've learned in the last 24 hours!
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #6
    The Chip Merchant has good deals on the RAM you would need. For Titanium Powerbooks.
    :cool:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #7
    Thanks - but does anyone have any suggestions on cheaper RAM from the UK? I got one quote for 2 x 512MB mods for £115...

    THANKS

    Sail
     

Share This Page