Upgrading Powerbook G4 (Titanium) RAM

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sail, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. sail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #1
    Hi, still pretty new to Macs, but loving my journey so far!

    I would like to upgrade my 2 x modules of 256MB RAM, SODIMM, SDRAM, PC133 to 2 x 512MB modules... or a 1GB one?

    Does this mean it can't take - 512Mb PC3200 DDR SODIMM?

    Also, I flipped my PB over and unscrewed the back, but couldn't find where the modules would fit. Can anyone help with a diagram/pic?

    Thanks a lot in advance!

    Sail
     
  2. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    You can only put two 512mb modules in for one gig total. You lift up the keyboard from the top two tabs (go to pbfixit.com for a diagram) and take out the two 256mbs and plop in the new ones.
     
  3. sail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #3
    Great stuff!

    Thanks for this! Ppl here are helpful as ever!

    Sail
     
  4. superwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Monterey,CA
    #4
    Titanium Powerbooks can't take DDR SODIMM!
    You need to get PC133 SDRAM SODIMM!
    And yes, 2x512MB sticks is the max you can put in.
     
  5. sail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #5
    Thanks - this is something I've learned in the last 24 hours!
     
  6. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #6
    The Chip Merchant has good deals on the RAM you would need. For Titanium Powerbooks.
    :cool:
     
  7. sail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #7
    Thanks - but does anyone have any suggestions on cheaper RAM from the UK? I got one quote for 2 x 512MB mods for £115...

    THANKS

    Sail
     

Share This Page