Upgrading RAM in a G3 ...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by unrealrocks, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. unrealrocks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #1
    Just bought a cheapo G3 box to mess around with and probably use as an iTunes box.

    I was interested to know Crucial sell specific PC133 256MB sticks for this computer although I wondered if just any old PC100/133 RAM'll work as it'll save me quite a bit of money, heh.

    Cheers muchly
     
  2. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #2
    Any PC100 or PC133 sticks will work just fine.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Sorry, can't agree. If this is a beige G3 in particular, it is incompatible with almost all modern PC133 modules.

    Beige and Blue & White G3's require a 16-chip 256 Mb PC100 module (PC66 or compatible PC100 in the beige). An 8-chip or 4-chip 256 will crash and burn.
    They do not support 512 Mb modules at all.

    If you are in the USA Data Memory Systems has the correct RAM
     
  4. unrealrocks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #4
    Sorry I wasn't clear earlier - its a B&W G3.

    Cheers, for the information :)
     
  5. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    The B&Ws are very fussy about RAM in OS X. Your best bet is to make sure all of your ram sticks have the same specs. This can be done in OS 9 using Dimm First Aid, DFA.

    The System Profiler in OS X is not always accurate. I would not trust it for testing ram for use in a B&W.
     
  6. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #6
    Considering that I've never had either a Beige or a Blue & White fail to recognize standard PC133, I'd have to disagree. A Beige may be unwilling to accept a 512MB stick, but the Blue & White should have no issues.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    I'm sorry, but I'm gonna have to pull rank - I've got 17 years and about 15,000 RAM modules seniority on you ;)

    The Yikes motherboard G4's, B&W G3's and Beige G3's cannot recognize a 512 Mb module. Their memory controllers cannot count that high. It wasn't until the Sawtooth motherboard (AGP graphics) G4s came out that 512s became an option.

    EveryMac
    Kingston
    Low End Mac
    Data Memory Systems

    You may have had good luck with low density (16 chip) PC133 256 Mb modules, but most PC133's made today are high density (4 or 8 chip) and will not work in these machines. It's not the speed, its the density that is the issue.
     
  8. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #8

    Yep, CR is right, no 512's or HD sticks in the B&W's......been there, done that :)
    I had a B&W for over 4 years & learned this firsthand by going thru more ram sticks than I care to admit to find the right combo of speed, latency & density. They WILL however, take the older, low density PC133 notta problemo
     

Share This Page