Upgrading Retina Macbook Pro SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mashinhead, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I recently got a retina macbook pro and I want to update the SSD in the machine. I know I can get an external but I want in machine solution which leaves two options, using the SD card slot for expansion, or upgrading the SSD.

    So my first question is can I upgrade the SSD, is this something the Apple Store does and has anyone done this? I know that I can buy and OWC Aura Pro but I would rather do it through Apple to maintain the warranty. I also want to know if anyone has actually put in an Aura Pro in their machine and what the results were?

    I did go to an apple store and they said that you can change the SSD but you have to change the logic board with it because of how it is configured because just changing the SSD can bring about logic board failures, which may not make the Aura Pro and option.

    As far as the SD card Slot I want to know if others use it for expansion, and if so what kind of speeds do you see, with read/write. And what the best card to get is.

    Any advice or help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    MaxPower72

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois, Crooks County
    #2
    if you open the retina MBP you'll void the warranty. And a whole new logic board will cost you a dear amount of $$$
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  4. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #4
    There's no need to change the logic board to change the flash stick in a MacBook Pro Retina, that's nonsense; however, the upgrade cost is stupid expensive so that may be prohibitive.

    I've installed a couple of the Aura Pros in 2012 MBAs, and I don think they are as good/responsive as the native drives.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    That's because they use Sandforce controllers which just aren't that good.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #6
    Exactly.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #7
    So does Apple.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    As far as I know Apple uses Samsung and Toshiba controllers, not SandForce.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #9
    The Toshibas in the 2012s (MBA/Retina) use SandForce.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    Lol what is a Toshiba/Samsung controller? Do you mean Marvell rather than Sandforce?
     
  11. T5BRICK, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012

    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    I'm under the impression that Samsung makes their own controller.

    I guess I shouldn't include Toshiba. I didn't realize they had moved to a Sandforce controller.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #12
    To my knowledge, Intel and Samsung use their own controllers... most others use either Marvell or SandForce. The Toshiba drives in Apple's 2012 devices use SandForce.
     
  13. fskywalker, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    fskywalker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #13
    I upgrade my 2.3 Ghz rMBP from 256gb to 512gb by purchasing the OEM Samsung SDD at Ebay($600), removed from a new machine. ( look on the search for my post on the subject). The switch is really easy, don't beleive the logic board BS as you just need to backup your data (I used Cc Cloner) and then just transfer the data to the new SSD. The kit I bought comes with the required screwdrivers to open the laptop and do the switch; if you don't scratch the bolts or aluminum surfaces there is no way Apple would know you opened it. Just save your old SSD in case you need warranty at a later time so hou can switch them back if needed. ( I bought an Apple SSD adapter to 2.5 inch SATA in for $20 and a USB3.0 exterior case for $8 (Ebay) and am using my 256gb unit for backup. Speed of my 512gb is exactly as posted by everyone here with Black Magic software since is the OEM drive. Hope this helps!
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #14

    thanks that does help. is this the sort of listing you got it from? did it say OEM in the listing?
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  16. Irock619, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Why in the world would you pay $600 for an 512GB SSD? :confused:
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #17
    Its $600 for a 512 ssd. Please read man.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    I know man. I couldn't edit my post on time. Regardless that's a bit pricey and that's the issue with Apple going proprietary.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #19
    The new Samsung 840 Pro (512G) is $599 on sale at Newegg! So $600 seems like a good price to me. Actually surprised you could find one.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #20
    AFAIK, I've yet to see confirmation of a Toshiba Sandforce drive in the 128gb rMBP 13. All rMBP 15 and all 2012 MBA's with 256gb and up SSD's are all Samsung. The only crappy Toshiba equipped models are the 128gb and 64gb models. I did an impromptu test at 2 different local Apple stores and all 128gb rMBP 13 had Samsung SSD's.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    fskywalker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #21
    Hi mashinhead, yes that is the same vendor I bought from. The actual link from my purchase is this:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/271037500778?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

    $600 is the very best price I could find, there was another vendor selling it for the same price plus another one for $700 in Ebay. I also found one vendor outside Ebay but his price was even higher ($800).

    On the 15.4 Retina, you have to install either the Samsung OEM or the OWC since it is a custom size that would not allow the installation of other SSD's (Beleive on the 13 inch rMBP you may be able to squeeze a 2.5 inch SSD). This is the link and picture for the Apple SSD adapter to the 2.5 inch SATA ($20) :

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/221127157504?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

    [​IMG]

    and this is the link and picture to the 2.5 inch SATA USB 3.0 case I bought ($9):

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-5-Durable...653?pt=Hard_Drive_Pouches&hash=item4abccb285d
    [​IMG]

    The speed I was getting from the 256GB drive on the rMBP was as follows:

    [​IMG]

    This is the speed I'm getting with the new 512GB OEM drive:

    [​IMG]

    Finally this is the speed I'm getting with the 256GB on the external case:

    [​IMG]

    As you can see the speed on the enclosure is substantially lower, most likely due to the quality of the adapters. I will very likely buy the OWC external case that will be launch later this year for around $65 (specially designed to re-use the OEM 256GB SSD of the rMBP once you upgrade to their 480GB SSD) to hopefully geta better performance (and look!). I did ordered the OWC, but returned it once I saw the statistics of it without even installing it.


    Regards,
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    Well, I believe the regular old MBPs are equipped with Toshiba SSDs, not the Retinas however, even those had a custom controller I believe.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #23
    Guys I am about to order 13" with Core i7 but 128 SSD and in such configuration it will be much more affordable for me.

    The question is will it be possible to upgrade SSD in the future when SSD become well below their current price?
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    fskywalker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #24
    Are you getting the regular 13 inch or the retina version? Both are upgradeable in terms of the SSD, but the retina is the same custom side as the 15 inch retina (so I read) You may find in Ebay all 15.4 rMBP Apple SSD sizes (256, 512 and 768 GB)

    So if you cannot afford 256gb go with 128gb, but will fill really fast unless you rely on external drives for pictures and such.
     
  25. 4kusnik, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #25
    I'm going to get 13" retina version with 128GB but afraid of not being able to upgrade it later when prices will be more wallet-friendly.

    I saw SSD 256 512 768 pulled out from new Retina 15" for sale on ebay but not sure if they are compatible with Retina 13".
     

Share This Page