Upgrading the 2011 MBA 11" - SATA3 SSD, yes!, but 2013 MBA battery?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by JPamplin, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. JPamplin, Aug 4, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    JPamplin

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #1
    Folks,

    OK, in case I haven't posted this before - if you have a 2011 MBA, your Mac comes with a SATA 2 (3.0 mbps) SSD. You CAN upgrade to the Other World Computing SATA 3 (6.0 mbps) SSD because this particular model COMES WITH SATA 3 on the motherboard. I did this, and it's a nice jump.

    However, could I MAYBE order a 2013 MBA 11" battery (which I understood was slightly higher capacity), and replace my aging 2011 battery? Anyone tried this? Results?

    I'm desperate for a higher capacity battery - I know 10.9 Mavericks will improve things, but I'm hoping the batteries are interchangeable. Anyone?

    JP
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Even if you did - the Haswell CPU is where all tha gains are
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #3
    what he said. it's not the battery, it's the chip. if you're still on the original batt in that 2011 you'd probably see an increase in battery life with a new one though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    JPamplin

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #4
    Thanks, I know Haswell is where it's at - BUT, the 2013 battery is 38 Wh, whereas the stuff on eBay is 35. Anything would be an improvement, but I might as well try to get the most I can.

    Two follow ups:

    1. Has anyone been able to find the 2013 batteries on sale?
    2. Are the connections and form factor the same for a 2013 vs 2011?
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    JPamplin

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #6
  7. macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #7
    OWC doesn't sell anything cheap, and I wouldn't replace the battery unless it needs it. In any case you're still limited somewhat by the intel hd3000 graphics, depending on your needs and usage.

    Unless you've got a top of the line 2011 rig, you may be able to sell it and get a new machine for the proceeds and what you'll be spending on the upgrades.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    JPamplin

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #8
    An excellent point, thanks. The 2011 11" 1.6 i5 MBA that I have was a trade for an iPad 3 (I know, right?). So it was basically a sunk cost. The SSD is already been purchased (240GB) a few months ago so I can keep a decent sized Boot Camp partition on it.

    Basically the only incremental cost I'm considering at this point is the battery. I'll get a 35Wh unless I can find a 38Wh from the 2013's. To me, this is plenty fast enough - I don't do anything requiring a better video chipset.

     
  9. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #9
    Am a tinkerer myself and I wound't bother with 3WH. Had bad experience with third party batteries (PC, not Mac). But OK, ur Mac$.

    While you are in there, change the fan and re-paste the heatsink for cool running and quiet. :)
     
  10. macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #10
    Finding a great deal on a used system and then spending so much on upgrades that it would have been cheaper to buy new?

    (sigh)Guilty
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    JPamplin

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #11
    Yeah, well... yeah. I am where I am. I think getting a new battery for this thing now will serve me best since 10.9 will improve things a bit. I can't afford the several hundred dollar cost of upgrading to a 2013. If I did, though, I think I'd get the 13" for the extra real estate.

    Dunno. Am I taking crazy pills?



    ----------

    Oooh. Re-paste with Arctic Silver 5? You think that would help? Is it hard?

     

Share This Page