Upgrading the OS

Discussion in 'macOS' started by insomniac321123, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. insomniac321123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #1
    Sorry if this is a stupid question. This is my first mac, so...
    If I put 10.5 on my MBP when it comes out, will it erase all of the data on my HD?

    Thanks,
    insomniac
     
  2. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #2
    If you do what's called an ARCHIVE install, then no, it will not erase all your data. It's still a good idea to backup all your data prior to the update though. :)
     
  3. insomniac321123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    does that archive install not install everything?
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    High probability that Leopard will have an "Upgrade" button that it will default to during the installation process which will update your Mac without destroying anything*. Just like Tiger. Just like Panther.


    *: (you need/want/care about.. unless you've config'd stuff in /etc and the like)
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    What it does is moves the old system files to a folder called old system files. Then reinstalls the system, leaving your user files in the same place, along with your preferences and applications. Yet you still get a nice clean install of OS X. :)
     
  6. insomniac321123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Technically, it creates a folder at the root called "/Previous Systems/", into which it creates another folder called "/Previous System #" (where # refers to the amount of previous systems it finds there, starting at 1), into which it moves the appropriate files/directories.
     
  8. mockingbird.fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #8
    Hey, I was wondering if it is possible to upgrade from 10.1 to Tiger using the archieve and install or an upgrade option if possible. Basically I dont want t delete user data and re-format the disk.
    Cheers.
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Using A&I? Absolutely.
    Using the "Upgrade" button? I don't think so.

    But there's no need to reformat. 10.1 used HFS+ too.
     

Share This Page