Upgrading to Jaguar

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by elliotay, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. elliotay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #1
    So I've convinced one of my friends to update to jaguar on her 500mHz iBook. She has 10.0.3 on it now and when I tried to install 10.2 onto her hard drive it had a Red Exclamation point as apposed to a Green Arrow and said I couldn't install it. Do I need to install 10.1 first? Is that the problem? Thanks.
     
  2. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #2
    I don't think you need 10.1 to upgrade persay...

    How much hard drive space does she have left on her iBook?
     
  3. elliotay thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #3
    Yeah I thought that might be the other problem. she has 1.8GB left on her iBook and it says it need 1.3GB of free space to install. So could that also be the problem?
     
  4. elliotay thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #4
    also one of my other friends has been having the same problem where it says you can not install OS X on this disk and she has 7.6GB free. So i don't think it's a hard drive thing.I'll let you all know when/if we get it to work.
     
  5. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #5
    I don't know exactly what your problem is but to help you out before you go any further. To prevent mucho problems you must I repeat must do a clean install. With OSX this means backing up all your data wiping the drive and installing 10.2 then the update to 10.2.1. This fixes a lot of problems that could occur.

    Once you have done that reinstall all the data then boot up on the install disc and select Disc Utility and fix permissions.

    Here is a tip to help backup the drive if the iBook is a later one with a firewire port.

    If you have another firewire equiped mac with enough disc space connect them with a firewire cable(requires a special type) startup that computer then startup the iBook holding the T key down. This will start the iBook up in Target Disc Mode. This allows the main computer to access the iBook hard drive as if it were an external drive. Back up all the data then drop the drives in the trash as if to eject. Then shutdown the iBook and disconnect them.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Re: Upgrading to Jaguar

    Did you click on the drive and read the message?
     
  7. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #7


    totally agree, the first time i installed jaguar
    i did an archive and install....after that i had
    performance problems and semi moderate
    osx glitches...after doing a reformat reinstall
    all is hunky dory and fast :)

    although some window performace issues
    came back when i reinstalled norton antivirus,
    i simply reformated AGAIN and everything was
    ok. dont think that norton caused ALL the
    problems...i highly recommend a reformat
    reinstall. and make two partitions to make
    this easier in the future...one with alll your
    applications (i dont move my apps. around,
    osx doesnt seem to like it. instead i organize
    aliases of my apps.) and put all your
    personal and project documents on the other
    partition. that way if you need to wipe the
    OS again it wont be that much of a drag.

    god im gonna copy this for the next time
    i preach about reformat reinstall, i've typed
    this out SOooo much :) im a believer.
     
  8. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #8

    Hey I also had problems with Norton but is was System Works 2.0. I installed it and it installed programs and data everywhere and it wanted to change system level data. I never saw any big problems from it just weird glitches so I chased it down and deleted every file related to Symantec on my drive and deleted it and then re repaired the permissions and everything is hunky dory.

    By the way I have Norton System Works 2.0 up for bid on ebay.
     

Share This Page