Urgent Help needed fast!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jj1985, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. jj1985 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    #1
    I have just reinstalled my parents computer, putting tiger on it. I also installed the classic system folder in what i thought was the right place.
    When i tried to reboot in classic, it gave me a picture of a floppy disk with a flashing question mark, and it hangs like this indefinately?

    What do i do? Please dont ask why i did this, just help me out! ANybody!
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    Well we could help you if we knew what kind of computer you were using here...
     
  3. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #3
    i had that once, just before my hardrive melted...lol nah only joking. i just did an archive instal and it was fine.

    was it after a kernal panic
     
  4. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #4
    As far as I know, the flashing question mark means that it cannot find the OS 9 system folder on the drive. It will search any and all drives until it finds it, then boot up. Sounds to me like you just have the system folder in the wrong place.

    But why are you 'rebooting into classic'? Why can't you just run Classic on top of OS X the normal way?
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Tiger doesn't include OS 9, obviously, so, depending on how you "reinstalled" the computer, it would seem that you deleted the OS 9 installation. Hence, you can no longer boot into it. Also, I think that Tiger does not install Classic by default (checks PB, sees no Classic folder...), so you'll need to install it explicitly (I'm pretty sure it's still on the DVD). But... that's Classic, not bootable OS 9.
     
  6. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #6
    Right- so to be clear- since you said you installed Classic, not the real OS 9, you don't reboot to load it. You launch it from inside Tiger.
     
  7. jj1985 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    #7
    Ok, more info
    It is an Imac G4 700 Mhz.
    I installed classic by adding the classic system folder to the hard disk.
    I cannot get past the disk question mark thingy, no matter how many times the computer is turned on and off.
    How do i get it to boot back into x?
     
  8. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #8
    There are command keys you hold down during boot.

    Power off and on and hold :

    D - changes disk i thing
    F -firewire disk mode
    C - maybe?

    there is one wich will try a different install maybe google will help!
     
  9. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #9
    Good God...

    Okay, throw the Tiger install disc in. Reboot and listen for when the Startup chimes up and hold C during that chime, until the Install Disc asks what language you want, continue using your favorite language of choice and go to UTILITIES and then START UP DISK and then choose the volume with OS X on it.

    It will reboot. Never attempt booting straight into classic again. It's not bootable, it's an emulator.
     
  10. jj1985 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    #10
    Thankyou, will try tomorrow :)
     
  11. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    C -Boots from CD/DVD
    T -Firewire target disk mode
     
  12. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #12
    You guys, you're making this too complex - reboot the computer hold down the ALT key before the chime sounds and it'll give you a list of the OS's you may boot into. Remember that! I do that a lot when booting up off of different volumes.
     
  13. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #13
    thank god somebody FINALLY said it....shame i didn't get to it sooner...
     
  14. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #14
    Duff-Man says...yes, but the thing to remember about that is it only works for *different volumes* - if you have OS X and OS 9 on the same volume that trick does not work....oh yeah!
     
  15. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #15
    He could just hold down X to boot into OS 10 and the other thing is, when I hold down the ALT key, even if I've installed OS 9 first, and have set it to my first bootable OS, it still finds OS X rather than OS 9. At least it has on my iBook and that. That's why I bring it up.
     

Share This Page