URGENT HELP: Rack Mount Power Strip UK (PDU)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by LERsince1991, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. macrumors 65816

    LERsince1991

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    The reason it's urgent is because I'm in the middle of a project and I need to know what Power Strip I will be fitting into my desk but I can't glue a part of it together until I have cut out the hole for the power strip.

    I think it's also called a power distribution unit. (PDU)

    Basically it's holding my build up.

    I need a UK power strip to fit into the side of my desk that I'm making.
    I would love it to be anodized but theres a small chance of that.
    Atleast it should fit int with the desk and look alright.
    I won't be mounting it on a rack, I will be wiring it up and screwing it into wood.

    Heres something along the lines of what I need:
    http://www.dcdi.co.uk/Power-Distribution/Horizontal-PDU---19-/c-1-91-181/

    Could anyone reccomend anything to me?
    Price needs to be low but if it looks good i'm willing to pay a bit more, but lets see what you've got first.
    Thanks a lot!
    Luke.

    I've uploaded a pic of how it will be used in the desk.
    Cheers!

    PS a 4 port will do
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #2
    Not sure you can find metal power strips... Surely there would be a current issue. How about finding a good, compact, surge protection unit and spraying it to match?
     
  3. ntg
    macrumors regular

    ntg

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Location:
    UK - Rushden, Northants
    #3
  4. macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    Hey LER. Really liking the desk design, and have been following it from the previous thread.
    i have never seen fully integrated PDU's made with a presentable metal, but there are plenty of wall mounted sockets that are. If you care enough about the look it might be worth it to wire these in manually instead of buying a ready made unit.

    Your are in the uk, no? i found these quite simple double sockets, second product down, no switches, but there are plenty more out there
    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_In...ome/index.html#Chelsea_Brushed_Chrome_Sockets
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    LERsince1991

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    I have 3 Options then really;

    - Get a normal extension lead, mount/afix it myself and spray it silver

    - Use normal wall sockets

    - Buy a PDU

    In terms of cost the 4 port extension lead might be good. I could get one for a few quid but it might look cheap. Even an expensive PDU would look a bit... unstylish.

    I need to think about it.
    Cheers
    Luke
     

Share This Page