*urgent* is my mac about to die!!?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by poohat1000, Jan 22, 2007.

1. poohat1000 macrumors 6502

poohat1000

right, problems first appeared when i try to open a file in an application, say i want to load a new image in msn as my display picture - when the diologue box opens up and i navigate to the file, it takes literally five minutes to come out of spinning beachball mode. This is a dual 1.8ghz G5 with 10gb free. this concerned me and slowed down my work flow (got around it by dragging images onto app's icon to open em - worked fine). Now more problems have appeared, it literally took me 5 minutes to load this page, http://www.apple.com/support/ - wont even load the images after ten minutes... yet sites such as bbc.com are as fast as ever.

is my hard drive about to die? - this is pretty urgent as i make my living through this computer.

thanks people

edit; i've already done repair/verify permissions and everything was fine.

2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

Do you have a backup? If you don't, I would take this opportunity to make one, NOW!

3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Hard to say -- it is one potential symptom of a dying drive

If you make your living with the machine, you should be running out right NOW and purchasing a new hard drive to back up all your information on.

Heh: What Eric-the-nimble says ^

4. worriedmac macrumors regular

worriedmac

you should use disc utility to verify the disc, not just the permissions repair. If it says failure on exit then your HD either is about to die or the disc image is damaged. either way backup straight away. once you have backed up start the computer from the os install disc by holding c when booting the machine with the disc in the drive. then start up disc utility and repair the disc image of the startup drive. if the HD is going to fail then the failure on exit will reoccur after booting up again on the startup disc.