US ATV in the UK

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by gonzoh, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. gonzoh
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #1
    With Christmas approaching I am thinking of giving my sister in the UK an ATV. Thing is they are a lot cheaper in the US than the UK relatively speaking.
    If I bought a US ATV and took it to the UK would it work?

    I see it has a universal PSU and the spec pages say it does 50/60 hz so would suggest a PAL/NTSC capability. Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!

    any one have any thoughts

    Thanks

    George
     
  2. Gav2k
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes it would
     
  3. AdrianK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Well, they sell the ATV2 in the UK with HDMI as the only option for video out...

    My US ATV1 works fine in the UK using a standard two prong lead.
     
  4. vrDrew
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    vrDrew

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Midlife, Midwest
    #4
    The bad old days when a TV or other electronic device bought in one country wouldn't work in another are (largely) a thing of the past. Thanks to globalization, and the widespread introduction of digital High Definition TV service, most such devices can cross borders with only minimal help.

    The only issue I think you'd face is the power cord. You could simply use an adapter, which can be bought for $5 or so from any decent electrical store. More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.

    The only other "downside" to AppleTV in the UK is the absence of Netflix, which I've found makes up a sizable portion of my AppleTV usage. But hey- you can't have everything.
     
  5. itickings
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Very standard and very cheap. No worries.
     
  6. gonzoh
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #6
    Thanks

    Thanks for all your help. That solves one christmas present. Now what for everyone else!
     
  7. GLOC
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #7
    As a follow up to this, do I need a US iTunes ac to use a US ATV2 in the UK?

    Regards
     
  8. DefBref
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #8
    No, there is no difference between a US or UK ATV2. All that will happen if you don't use a US account then the netflix option will disappear from the menu.
     
  9. DOMCHO101
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Los Gatos, CA
    #9
    Now how about a spin on this question, which I've been meaning to ask for a while now... What about a US ATV2 in the Czech Republic?

    The difference here is simple, they don't sell Apple TV's in Czech.
     

Share This Page