US ATV in the UK

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by gonzoh, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #1
    With Christmas approaching I am thinking of giving my sister in the UK an ATV. Thing is they are a lot cheaper in the US than the UK relatively speaking.
    If I bought a US ATV and took it to the UK would it work?

    I see it has a universal PSU and the spec pages say it does 50/60 hz so would suggest a PAL/NTSC capability. Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!

    any one have any thoughts

    Thanks

    George
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes it would
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Well, they sell the ATV2 in the UK with HDMI as the only option for video out...

    My US ATV1 works fine in the UK using a standard two prong lead.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #4
    The bad old days when a TV or other electronic device bought in one country wouldn't work in another are (largely) a thing of the past. Thanks to globalization, and the widespread introduction of digital High Definition TV service, most such devices can cross borders with only minimal help.

    The only issue I think you'd face is the power cord. You could simply use an adapter, which can be bought for $5 or so from any decent electrical store. More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.

    The only other "downside" to AppleTV in the UK is the absence of Netflix, which I've found makes up a sizable portion of my AppleTV usage. But hey- you can't have everything.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Very standard and very cheap. No worries.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #6
    Thanks

    Thanks for all your help. That solves one christmas present. Now what for everyone else!
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #7
    As a follow up to this, do I need a US iTunes ac to use a US ATV2 in the UK?

    Regards
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #8
    No, there is no difference between a US or UK ATV2. All that will happen if you don't use a US account then the netflix option will disappear from the menu.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Los Gatos, CA
    #9
    Now how about a spin on this question, which I've been meaning to ask for a while now... What about a US ATV2 in the Czech Republic?

    The difference here is simple, they don't sell Apple TV's in Czech.
     

Share This Page