US 'Schools'

Discussion in 'Community' started by FireArse, Apr 11, 2005.

1. FireArse macrumors 6502a

Hey guys,

I'm an Undergrad student on 1 year placement (having completed 2years of my Degree so far) and am thinking of further study in America.

I study Computer Systems Engineering in London and would like to do a Masters course in Business, Finance, Management or Economics. i.e away from Engineering. Don't get me wrong, I love engineering, but this placement has made it clear everything is going to the Far East.

Where would be good to study in the States? I've seen ASU - which was nice, but I dont know how popular it is for Business!

Thanks,

FireArse

2. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

The most popular rating service for U.S. schools is U.S. News and World Report. That doesn't necessarily mean it's the best, but it's a good place to start. Here's their ranking of business schools.

A common complaint about the U.S. News surveys is they are so predictable: Harvard, Stanford, and the other top private schools always seem to top the list. It's harder to find good "values," or schools which average folk have a reasonable chance of getting accepted into.

Edit: Looking over the list, if you have a very strong engineering background, you might consider MIT (Sloan), or Carnegie Mellon, since they are leaders in engineering/computer science.

3. hcuar macrumors 65816

hcuar

Perhaps Indiana University would be a good choice. I seem to remember them having a really good buisness school.

4. FireArse thread starter macrumors 6502a

US Schools

Thanks for the Link - all very interesting stuff. We dont get to hear much about your Schools in the UK. MIT, Harvard & Yale seem to be known, but little else. I am into Engineering now - but I'm not going to waste my time on a Graduate Degree if there aint gonna be a worthwhile job when I leave.

MIT are interesting, but dont seem to have any Business subjects to offer @Masters' level.