US vs UK iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Droooooj, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Does anyone know if there'll be a difference between an US & UK iPad.

    (eg on laptops the keyboards are slightly different, on iPhones our networks are more locked down).

    I'm in UK, going to US soon and was thinking of buying one whilst there as it'll be cheaper, but don't want to if it's different to a regular UK one.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    No, and there is no difference between a US and UK iPhone either. The only visible difference you will be able to see, is a UK plug adapter in the box, rather than a US one.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    Well, not quite true I think. Remember that on the US 3G iPads there is meant to be a setting somewhere that lets you pick which AT&T plan you are on, renew that plan, cancel it, etc. This is obviously specific to the US iPhones. I asked a few weeks ago if this meant they would be country-specific and nobody seemed to know but I would assume that phones released in Britain would have O2/Orange/etc settings on them instead of the AT&T ones? Maybe I'm wrong but that's possibly why there is a delay announcing international iPad details - will we have to wait until carrier deals are finalised before prices etc are made public...?
    That was my only concern about buying a US iPad (or a British one for that matter) and not being able to use it in Ireland with an Irish carrier if the devices were somehow country-specific. I dunno but I guess we'll find out soon enough...
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #4
    It's not possible for it to be country specific seeing as it's already confirmed to be SIM free. Apple likely wouldn't even go to the bother of creating regional software, so it should all be contained on the one.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    Maybe you're right but the carrier settings information that Apple published a couple of weeks ago were absolutely specific to AT&T in the US. I can't find the section on the Apple site now but I presume you know the thing I'm on about?

    Do you think theses AT&T settings are going to be on all 3G iPads throughout the world or do you think there will also be options for O2 UK and Orange France and Rogers Canada etc etc? Will the facility to renew your 3G data plan directly from the iPad be something that only AT&T customers in the US can use? I think that's unlikely, and therefore that means this kinda stuff will need to be added in each country where Apple has worked out a carrier deal.

    I know recently that O2 in Ireland allowed data tethering on the iPhone and the only way this was activated was when I connected by USB to iTunes I suddenly got a message saying "carrier specific update is available" and when I installed/downloaded this, a whole new section appeared on my iPhone allowing me to use data tethering.

    So because this kind of thing is actually possible on a country/carrier specific basis, and because we know already there is at least one piece of AT&T/US specific software on the US 3G iPads, I think there is a small chance that the US 3G iPads may be different from the French ones, the British ones, etc. Wifi only will be the same but I'm a little dodgy about getting a 3G one til I see exactly how this kind of thing is organised in different countries.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #7
    I imagine it will just be able to tell if it has an AT&T sim in or not and if it has it brings up those options
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    Maybe so, but I think the thing that the OP and myself both want to know is if we buy an iPad from the US, will it be fully compatible for use in Britain or Ireland (or wherever). So if he puts in a UK O2 sim will it work for 3G, or will the fact that it was bought in the US mean that it will only offer him settings for AT&T. I don't think anyone here will be able to answer this for sure since the 3G iPads aren't out anywhere yet, but I'd certainly be hanging on for clarification on this before buying one.

    If the iPads really were completely universal without any country-specific settings, it's odd that they're not just openly for sale on apple stores online throughout the world now. Why the need to launch in specific countries at specific times if the only difference is the plug adapter? It's absolutely got something to do with deals with 3G carriers.

    I'm sure it's nothing to worry about but $830 is a pretty steep investment and I'd need to be sure it's gonna work fine! :)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Yup.. this is my thinking. It must be down to Apple waiting to finalise contracts with providers.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #10
    we already have plenty of pay as you go phones, the software is basically the same. It detects you have a PAYG sim and gives you additional options, including connecting to the operator (info stored on the SIM) to buy top up vouchers etc.

    you could do the same with data.
     
  11. Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #11
    They currently don't sell the 3G iPad anywhere in the world and it should be released on sale in the USA, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Switzerland and the UK in late April.

    The reason for the staggered launches is down to supply and demand issues, not country specific settings.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Peter Harrison

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    If Apple are working to get a deal for iPad users in the UK that allows our iPad to activate and cancel like the US iPads can do with AT&T, then wouldn't Apple mention that they are working with carriers to bring us a deal on that 3G page? Instead, it says that if you wish to have 3G access, you have to go and find a provider that can offer the right kind of card.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #13
    I would like to know if the iPad 3G will be locked to a carrier much like a normal phone is. Take the iPhone for instance, you can't buy one in America and use it in the UK without unlocking it which usually requires you to jailbreak it.

    If the iPad 3G is the same then buying one in America will be useless unless an unlock is made.

    I guess no one will no for sure until it's actually released. I'm going to America later this year and have already considered purchasing the WiFi version but considered the hassle I have using a laptop without an internet connection. The main reason I purchased a mobile broadband dongle was because of this.

    On a side note, which UK carriers support the micro-sim the iPad will use? I can't see o2 rolling these out over night, thus I can't see a Uk release for at least a month or 2.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #14
    There is one probable difference (as there is on ipods) in that the headphone volume will be able to go higher on the US ones. This is due to the restrictions from the EU health and safety rules (yes really we do live in such a pathetic bureaucratic world- I never voted for the current load of idiots so not my fault!)
     
  15. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Wasn't it announced at the product introduction that the iPad will be unlocked?

    If so, that means it is NOT carrier specific.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    North West UK
    #16
    Yes it is supplied sim free and not tied to any carrier.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #17
    Thanks to netdog and Boblister for clearing up my carrier question.
    I was just about to post about the iPod volume problem being a difference but is this software or hardware related?
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Err... well there should be, as there are two additional Wifi channels licenced for European use but disabled in the US...

    Phazer
     

Share This Page