USA Flag at top of screen ...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by SandersHokie, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. SandersHokie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #1
    how do I get this off? Not that i'm anti-american or anything, it's just taking up room and I have no idea what it does.

    thanks.
     
  2. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
  3. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    That's for when you support multiple types of input. I have it because I switch back and forth from English to Japanese. When I type Japanese, it has a Japanese symbol up there. You can edit these settings in the International preferences pane.
     
  4. SandersHokie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #4
    so basically i don't really need it since i just use English lang?
     
  5. SandersHokie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #5
    thanks. worked perfectly
     
  6. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    Correct!
     
  7. glennp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    It's used for more than switching languages. You'd want to keep it if you want to access to the Character Palette or Keyboard Viewer (OS X version of Keycaps) easily. If not, then don't worry about taking it off the menubar.
     

Share This Page