USB 2.0 - simple question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OldManJimbo, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. OldManJimbo macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #1
    I had not ever thought about this, but a conversation at the Apple Store in San Diego has me wondering -

    How do I go about determining if my PowerBook G4 (1ghz) has a USB 2.0 or 1.1?

    The reason I ask - I was looking for a FireWire cord for my iPod, and the guy at store said I didn't need it because USB 2.0 was "just as fast" as FireWire. When I questioned him on that and suggested that FireWaire seemed to be much faster than the USB port, he said I probably did not have USB 2.0.

    At this point, I am more curious than anything else - so, how do I determine which version of USB I have on my Mac?
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    B.S.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    USB 2.0 is theoritcally FASTER then FireWire 400 (is theoretically fast).

    However, USB works on burst, so for sustained speeds, for large file transfers, it's not as fast.

    To determine if you have USB 2.0, do you have FireWire 800? If not, you don't have USB 2.0.

    Or, open System Profiler and choose USB, click on USB Bus (the 2nd one) and look at the "Speed:" listing. "up to 12Mb/sec" is USB 1.1.
     
  4. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #4
    I agree with iGary as my nano is slower to put my iTunes stuff on than my mini with FW, same songs, USB 2.0 vs FW. The FW every time is faster, so he doesn't really know what he is saying to be nice ;)
    Try plugging in a mouse then go to the blue Apple in the menu bar. Click on it, then on about this Mac, then on more info, then usb and see what it says.
     
  5. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #5
    Yep - this model:

    CPU
    CPU: PowerPC 7447
    CPU Speed: 1.0/1.25 GHz
    FPU: integrated
    Bus Speed: 166 MHz
    Data Path: 64 bit
    ROM: 1 MB ROM + 3 MB toolbox ROM loaded into RAM
    RAM Type: PC2700 DDR
    Minimum RAM Speed: 333 MHz
    Onboard RAM: 0 MB
    RAM slots: 2
    Maximum RAM: 2 GB
    Level 1 Cache: 32 kB data, 32 kB instruction
    Level 2 Cache: 512 kB onchip, 1:1
    Expansion Slots: 1 PC Card (Type I or II)

    Video
    Screen: 15" active matrix TFT
    Monitor: 24 bit 1280x854
    Video Card/Chipset: ATI Mobility Radeon 9600
    VRAM: 64 MB
    Video Out: DVI, S-Video

    Storage
    Hard Drive: 60/80 GB 4200 RPM
    ATA Bus: ATA-100
    Optical Drive: 24x/24x/10x/8x CD-RW/DVD-ROM or 24x/16x/4x/8x/2x/1x CD-RW/DVD-RW

    Input/Output
    USB: 2 2.0
    Firewire: 1
    Firewire800: 1
    Audio Out: 16 bit stereo mini
    Audio In: 16 bit stereo mini
    Speaker: stereo
    Microphone: mono
     
  6. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #6
    OK - so I have USB 1.1.

    Hmm - I am able to recharge various items through this port, and I was under the impression that only USB 2.0 would charge batteries. I guess I was wrong about that.

    Is there any way (or is it worth the effort) to upgrade my 1.1 to the higher version?
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    There is no way. The logic board would have to be completely replaced, and 1) there's no way to make a NEWER one fit and 2) it would be prohibitively expensive if you COULD put another logic board in there.
     
  8. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #8
    Well, that was easy. If there's no way, then I needn't worry about any longer. I'll just need to wait until the magic money fairy drops some extra $$ in my lap and I'm able to buy that shiny new PowerMac I played with this weekend at the Apple store.

    Thanks for your (quick) help.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Stick with FireWire for your iPod unless you have a 5G or Nano. If you have a 15" or 17" model and you need USB2.0 then just get a PC Card for now.
     
  10. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #10
    I have the 12" G4 - so I'll stay with what I have.

    It's nice when the door is slammed tight - if there's NO WAY to do this then I can quit even thiniing about it.
     
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11

Share This Page