USB 2.0 vs Firewire 400 For Video Editing and Storing Extra Files

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by peter202, Jan 16, 2007.

1. peter202 macrumors member

peter202

Hey, Was wondering if someone could help me out here..
    Im torn between two western digital external drives; the 'My Book' and the 'My Book Premium'
    I will be mainly using Final Cut for video work.. As well as audio in the future with Pro Tools and Logic.

I like the Premium for having both interfaces but that also comes with a price.. a price worth paying???

So whats your opinion? Which one will be best?

Thanks!

2. BeefUK macrumors member

Although i've had no experience with either of these drives. I recently bought a HD caddy and added an old HD to it. The caddy comes with firewire and USB 2.0.

I haven't tried the USB 2, as the firewire is more than quick enough. I did some editing it imovie, and noticed no slow down when compared to running from the internal hd on my mini. 400MB video file copies from internal HD to external firewire hd in ~18sec.

Although firewire does not have a as high a max data rate speed as USB 2.0, it can maintain a high data rate over a period of time, which in my opinion would be more suited to video editing.

Hope this helps.

3. ChrisA macrumors G4

Read the Final Cut User Manual. There is a section on the subject of choosing a disk drive. It gives specs for how fast thwy need to be based on the number of video streams and the format. Basically the answer is you want at least Firewire 400. When you start doing multitrack or HD video you may want to go with FW800 and a stripped RAID for your scratch disks. Project files can go on slower drives. You want the project files on different drives then the media.

according to the user manual for some use cases you need to look at SCSI or Fiber Chanel arrays but I assume you are editing mini DV format

4. trudd macrumors regular

trudd