USB connection for DSL??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by aminadab, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. aminadab macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1
    Ok, so I'm living in Morocco for the next year. I just got DSL or what they call ADSL. So: my modem connects to my computer via USB. I've never seen this. The service starts up tonight (hopefully) but I want to ask is anyone has heard of this. I can't find a USB port in my Network Configurations. They do supply software and I've already installed it; it looks like each time I want to connect I'll have to open up the app and to it manually. I guess there's also no way of running the USB through my Airport Express; it has USB but that's for printers, right? Thanks for any help here. Oh one more question: why the F do they do it this way??
     
  2. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #2
    Is the modem USB only? I've personally only had problems with USB modems. They worked, but sporadically. I suggest asking your service provider to supply you with an ethernet based modem model.
     
  3. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #3
    All the modems I have seen with USB also have ethernet. Just unplug the USB connection and use the ethernet plug. Obviously you will have to configure your airport or computer to properly negotiate an IP address with the ISP, on DSL usually this is some sort of authentication using PPPoE.
     
  4. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #4
    USB ADSL modems are commonly bundled for free with el cheepo broadband.

    Ditch it and buy an ADSL Router (typically a four port ethernet switch with integrated ADSL modem).
     
  5. aminadab thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #5
    But that's just it, it only has USB. I can't figure out why they'd make it like this. A lot of Morocco's technology is based upon France's and a friend told me she's seen this sort of connection there as well. Also, it seems that the provider (the only one in Morocco) has only this one modem. Can I just go buy an ethernet modem to replace it? Thanks for your help. After a month of lugging my laptop to the local cyber cafe, I'm VERY ready for internet at home. It's amazing how addicted I've become.
     
  6. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #6
    You'll have to ask whether you can supply your own modem. Some ISPs are very strict and will refuse to allow your own modem to work.

    Macs are very good with detecting and supporting hardware, I'm sure there's some way to make this USB DSL modem work if you can't get an ethernet based one.
     
  7. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #7
    I'd find the ADSL manufacturers page online, check all the supported standards then hunt down a second hand ADSL modem on ebay for cheap and make sure it supports all the same standards. It "should" work, but obviously there are no guarantees.
     
  8. MacAnkka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Just for clarification, ADSL is DSL. The A in the front means the speed is asymmetrical (the DL speed is higher than UL).
     

Share This Page