USB MIA on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Windowsrefugee, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Microsoft Land
    #1
    This is not really a MBA problem, but probably either a USB or Mac problem, but could not post to the "Mac Hardware" . I have a brand new WD USB drive that is attached as follows to my 2011 MBA Ultra>>>ACD TB >>>USB hub >>> WD HD. I am trying to create a new back up drive, but it keeps disappearing from my finder and even disk utility. Occasionally, I will see an error message saying that it was not ejected properly. Sometimes, it even works. I have changed USB ports and that sometimes works and sometimes does not. I should say that I have also had this problem with an older USB drive which is why WD sent me this new one under warrantee. But not now, I am not sure if it is really a problem with the drive or the USB connections or something on my MBA. It is rather erratic, but seems not to work most of the time. Suggestions?:confused:
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #2
    try a range of extra USB devices e.g. mice, kbd, etc and see if they have issues too.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Microsoft Land
    #3
    I have tried a number of devices-- in fact I have 2 powered hubs and probably have a total of at least 8 USB devices daisy chained off the ACD TB. I did notice that the Apple USB keyboard has stopped working a couple of times, but seems to respond to just changing USB ports. USB drive is not fixed by changing ports (usually).
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #4
    Have you tried plugging it in and checking the draw on the USB port?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Microsoft Land
    #5
    I do not know how to "check the draw on the USB port"??? I have just plugged it in to ACD TB directly (to assure better power) and it is recognized and working, at least for the moment.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #6
    I have some usb devices that do NOT like being on a hub at the end of a chain like that - they require me to plug into the Thunderbolt display directly. Your HD may just be one of those devices.
     

Share This Page