usb modem problem with new pb 15

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BelgianHokie, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. BelgianHokie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #1
    howdy-

    new pb 15 just arrived here in the mail (wife sent it to me).

    i have an asus usb modem for my adsl connection here in belgium. problem. the system doesn't seem to want to let me on the net today or even recognize that there is a modem there anyways.

    it only offers internal, bluetooth, built in ehternet or firewife or airport.

    how can i hook this thing up? i'd like to surf on the new computer.

    i have the original disk that came with the modem and it says that is is compatible with xp and mac os (no X listed). the modem was purchased in 2002 (fall).

    anxiously awaiting....

    thanks-

    dhc
     
  2. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    USB ADSL modems are generally instruments of torture. While you may find OS X drivers online, they may not yet be updated for Tiger. USB modems can also cause problems with connecting and kernal panics when waking from sleep - talking from bitter experience here! At one point, I had to restart the PB each time I wanted to go online since the drivers wouldn't allow me to close the connection and restart it. :rolleyes:

    Do yourself a very big favour and go and buy an ethernet ADSL modem. They're not very expensive and you'll improve your broadband experience no end. Get one with a wireless router built in and you and your Powerbook will know no bounds... aside from the router's range.
     
  3. BelgianHokie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #3
    thanks..

    looks like i'll get no love until i get to the states and can go wireless from my hotels network...

    i'm here for less than a month now.

    would have liked to add my cd's and have itunes automatically update what the songs and albums are but it looks like that will be a manual job now...

    dhc
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Try going to a place that has wireless internet. Even if it costs money (Barnes and Noble is $4 for 2 hours, at least you can use the pb).
     
  5. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #5
    Add them but don't worry about putting in all the tag information manually for your retail CDs. Just wait until you get to internet access (wherever) and then highlight the imported songs, go to Advanced and click on Get CD track names and it will go off and get any that you imported in the past.
     

Share This Page