USB problems in new Intel iMacs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by maverick808, Jan 31, 2006.

  1. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Just got my new 20" iMac but I am finding that the keyboard stops responding once in a while and requires an unplug/replug of the USB to get it going again. There's a topic on Apple Discussions where a few other people are having the same problem...

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=1647549#1647549

    Do all new iMacs suffer this problem?
     
  2. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    I haven't had any problems with my Intel iMac but I did have similar problems with my G5 iMac.
     
  3. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Did you get it fixed on your G5?

    By the way I should have mentioned that most of the time it's only the volume keys that stop working and the rest of the keyboard is fine. However, once in a while the whole keyboard cuts out and no keys work.
     
  4. jwdawso macrumors regular

    jwdawso

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    #4
    Anything else plugged into the USB or Firewire ports?
     
  5. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    No. Only things plugged in are keyboard and mouse. I've tried with the mouse plugged into the keyboard and with mouse plugged directly into iMac but it doesn't make a difference... after a while I get the same error in the system.log and the keyboard stops working (either just the sound keys or the whole keyboard).

    I've also tried with two different keyboards as my friend had one he used with his Mac Mini. Both keyboards behave the same and the error occurs on them both. Neither keyboard produces these errors on the Mac Mini.
     
  6. bigfib macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #6
    Nope, no usb problem here

    I have a dodgy keboard which apple are going to replace (itt givves ddoubble letters), but no usb problems at all.
    And in 10 days I have never once had to unplug/replug the keyboard.
    I have often found though that the volume keys on all my macs don't respond as soon as the processor is busy.

    Imac 17" Intel - 512 Mb
     
  7. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    Well I tried another Apple keyboard and it has the same problem. I called Apple and they are sending me a whole new machine but since so many other people are reporting the problem I'm worried that this bug exists on all Intel iMacs.
     
  8. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    Your sig says BT keyboard... it only happens on USB keyboards.
     
  9. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    I have a 20" duo with standard wired keyboard and mighty mouse with no problems resuming from sleep.
     
  10. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #11
    Well, batman. I think you just narrowed the problem down.

    I just meant I have no USB problems at all
     
  11. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12
    I have no other USB problems. The mouse, my phone, my iPod, my USB memory stick and even my external USB hard-drive are all working perfectly when plugged into the USB ports in the iMac. Furthermore, if I plug in an external USB hub and then plug the keyboard into that the problem doesn't occur.

    I only get the problem if I plug the Apple USB keyboard directly into the back of the iMac.

    As all the other USB devices are working fine I can't figure out what the problem is. Surely the USB hub inside the machine must be fine since it works for phones, iPods, hard-drives etc? So why not the keyboard? And why is it that most of the time only the volume and eject keys affected?

    It's weird.
     
  12. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #13
    It's not weird. You need to get them to give you a new keyboard
     
  13. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #14
    Well I already mentioned that I've tried two Apple keyboards. I also mentioned that both the keyboards work perfectly on the Mac Mini.
     
  14. mongoos150 macrumors 6502a

    mongoos150

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
  15. spencecb macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #16
    Obviously you are not reading the OP's posts. They have stated that the problem was duplicated with another Apple keyboard, and the same two keyboards did not experience this failure when plugged into a different Mac.
     
  16. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    No USB keyboard issues with my Intel iMac. It's been working just fine whether it's plugged directly in or going thru a USB hub. So it's definitely not all of them. All of my other USB devices have worked great so far too.
     
  17. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #18
    I used to occasionally experience this problem on my PowerMac G5, but it hasn't happened for several months.
     
  18. bigfib macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #19
    I'm afraid Maverick isn't reading either... I already told him that I have the same config as him and it doesn't have this problem, so the probleme isn't on all intel imacs....

    Thanks be.
     
  19. Todd H macrumors regular

    Todd H

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Location:
    Eastman, Georgia
  20. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #21
    How can you tell if we have the same config? I haven't mentioned how much RAM I have or what video card I went for. If the problem is caused by power surges on the USB hub the amount of RAM (and the power it draws) would affect this.

    It could also be a problem specific to the UK keyboard.
     
  21. bigfib macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #22
    And that's *my* fault???
    All I'm saying, is you keep asking if this is problem on all intel imacs man...
    And I, amongst others, am telling you it isn't.
    You have a dud :-( Wait for apple to send you a nice new one.
     
  22. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #23
    No it's not your fault and I appreciate your contributions to the thread. I suspect it may be the machine but as there are at least 10 other threads about this exact problem on the Apple Discussions I do believe it is not isolated to this one machine.

    Additionally, the fact that so many other devices work perfectly in the USB ports (memory stick, iPod, mouse, hard-drive, phone, USB hub) would suggest that the internal hub is indeed fine.

    I suspect there is something else at play here.

    For the record my iMac is a 20" with 1x1GB RAM and 256 VRAM. The keyboard is a UK USB one.
     
  23. 8020Comm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #24
    USB Reader ISSUES

    I have a 20" new intel imac

    I have a memory stick reader MSAC- US1.. does not read or mount on the new imac and when plugged in, sends the keyboard and mouse haywire.

    So not only limited to keyboard and mouse issues....
     
  24. maverick808 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25
    Did you plug the reader into the USB ports on the keyboard or on the back of the iMac?

    Can you check your system.log and see what the error messages, if any, are when this occurs?
     

Share This Page