Use an Intel Mac Mini to run programs on a G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by spiketips, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    My first question is, "Would it be possible?";
    my second question is, "Would it be pointless?"
    I googled around and never found it.
    If I didn't find it, and it's in an archive,
    kindly point me to it and I'll poof.
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Can you get into more detail? What program and what Mac OS X version do you use?

    If you have Leopard on the G5 and Leopard or Snow Leopard on the Mini, you could use Screen Sharing for instance.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    I have Leopard 10 5 8
    A lot of stuff won't run on it because it's a PowerPC.
    I was thinking of getting a mac mini with intel so that it would run both PowerPC programs and Intel programs. Does Intel play everything, or is it missing some? See I guess I could just Google that, LOL- THANKS!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
  5. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    The Intel will run all the PPC programs through an interpreter program called Rosetta. They won't run as fast as they do on the G5, however. Look to get Intel or Universal versions of the programs if you can.

    EDIT: Yes, no Classic programs.
     
  6. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    You could look into SheepShaver, as it allows to run Mac OS 8 and 9.
    If you also look for "Chubby Bunny ", you might find a working executable of Mac OS 9.0.4.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    Setup "Screen Sharing" on your G5 PPC and download an app onto your Mini called "Chicken of the VNC" to control your G5. This is what I did anyways and works great. :)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page