Use any x1900XT?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nick9871, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. nick9871 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #1
    can I use any brand x1900XT in the mac pro. For instance, can I buy a PowerColor x1900XT pci-e and stick it in there? Or does the one available through ATI/Apple have a specific bios.

    Only reason I ask is because Apple messed up my order and I had to cancel it, wait 5 days for pre-verification to drop off (doing this now....) and then re-order. So I will be mac-proless for 3 more weeks. I was going to go to the apple store and upgrade to the x1900 untill I learned they charge $400 as opposed to $250.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    That is because you end up with the $150 7300GT card in addition to the x1900 card.

    With the BTO, you swap the 7300GT card for a $150 discount.

    Of course Apple has let people keep both cards in the past and still get a discount, but that was when machines were chronically late.

    Edit: Sort of sucks you may not be able to use both at the same time due to some driver conflicts anyhow.
     
  3. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Not if you want to use it OSX. If you want dual platform compatibility, you have to go with Apple's flavor x1900.
     
  4. Digidesign macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #4
    The ATI/APPLE X1900XT is the only 1900XT pci-e card that will work natively in the Mac Pro.

    There are a few folks who are experimenting with flashing the Apple ROM onto other cards but the successes have been few and far betwen (if at all). I would not consider that a viable solution at the moment.

    Also, wouldn't X1900XTs for the PC not fit in the Mac Pro anyway? Seeing as how the cards are mounted from a left-accessed case vs. the Mac Pro's right-accessed case. I would think the whole card would have to be flipped upside down to fit in the MP. With the large fan on top of the X1900XT, I don't think that would work. Curious then, what the folks at Strangedogs.com are doing... :confused:
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    There is always slot 2, but that would mean running the PCIe Configuration Expansion Slot Utility to reconfigure the slot from a 1x to 8x slot -- and finding a power cable.
     
  6. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #6
    Um, no.

    The X1900 from apple is almost identical to the X1900 direct from ATI.
    There is no orientation difference.
     

Share This Page