Use my 12" PB as G4 Cube display?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by BurtonCCC, Dec 31, 2005.

  1. macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #1
    I'm looking to buy a G4 Cube, but I don't want to buy one of the old thin Apple flat panel monitors, because I'm only a college student, so I was wondering if I could use my PowerBook as a display for the Cube. What connection does the G4 Cube use for the display?

    Daniel.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    If it's the original video card, it will have standard VGA and the weirdo ADC connectors.

    I don't think there's any way to use your powerbook as a monitor.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #3
    why do you want a cube? your powerbook is probably much more powerful, even if it's an 867mhz model.
     
  4. adk
    macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #4
    because cubes are the coolest macs ever.
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    There is no practical way to move the signal into the Powerbook.

    Impractical ways include using some variation of VNC program, or going through a VGA to video digitizing to Firewire setup externally, but results will almost certainly be unacceptably slow and poor quality.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #6
    Become Steve Wozniak and make your own LCD controller circuits for the powerbooks LCD :p I think that's about all you can do.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #7
    SIGNED! I don't use my cube very often anymore, its main purpose is to just look cool on my desk, which it fulfills extremely well.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Supa_Fly

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #8
    Well isnt there a Firewire to DVI/ADC connector somewhere? What condition is your Cube in? I'm actually looking for one!

    Either that or an iBook G4 with DVDROM/CDRW. nothing fancy just small for fun.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #9
    I want a cube simply for holding all my music and backing up my DVDs. Problem is, the hard drives are usually no more that 20GB, so I'd have to stick a big fat hard drive in there.

    As for where you get them, they're all over eBay and most of them are left over from graphic design companies, so they all have been upgraded to around 1GB of RAM.

    Daniel.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #10
    I think everyone should have a cube.... Now someone make me a proud owner!

    Maybe this is something for MWSF '06?? Possibly a ViiV Cube? Yeah, you heard it here first. My mom told me it was the best idea ever. Yep, not even a Tuesday, but it's time for change.
     
  11. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    i thought the cube was discontinued/recalled because it could overheat.... :confused:
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    if you just need it to store music and stuff, cant you somehow mount it as hard drive somehow via firewire?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Or, buy a nice cheap IcyBox enclosure and a fat 250 drive. :rolleyes:
     
  14. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #14
    ADC->DVI adapters are cheap, i'd just buy a cheap HDTV and hook the cube up to it, bam coolest media center type thing ever.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    d_and_n5000

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #15

    It was discontinued(a.k.a. put on ice) because it was expensive, not too expandable, and not too many people bought it., or something close to that. I don't think there was a recall because of overheating, was there?
     
  16. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #16
    no overheating issues, some are caused by some upgrades but otherwise the cube is good, the BTO radeon did tend to die after a while due to fan failure.

    people did not buy the cube because of it's lack of pci slots, people think they will use them but they never do.
     

Share This Page