Use my old laptops display as a second one?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by heaven, Jun 20, 2005.

  1. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #1
    Hey!

    What I wanted to know: I have a Samsung X10 14" laptop (Windows) in my room. I am not using it, so I was wondering if it would be somehow possible to use my laptops display as a second display for my powerbook with some software.

    I hope you could understand my question.

    Thx in advance for the replies.
     
  2. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #2
  3. heaven thread starter macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #3
    Thx,

    But is there something else more user friendly?
     
  4. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #4
    Not unless you're willing to shell out cash for a TV adapter for the Windows laptops and settle for low-res grainy display on it (via the Powerbook's S-Video output).

    You're wanting to inject something into a closed system that was never intended to be used in the way that you want to use it. It's not supposed to be easy.

    Granted -- I'd love to see the next wave of Powerbooks feature an A/V input (so I could use my Gamecube or DVD Player w/ the LCD and speakers), but it's so far down on my list of requirements that it's almost a non-issue.
     
  5. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #5
    I'm not sure that is what you need. SDE3k sounds alot like VNC. Each computer is still using their own display.

    What you want is a program like Maxivista http://www.maxivista.com/. Unfortunately I have not found a program like this for Mac.
     
  6. heaven thread starter macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #6
    That's exectly what I am looking for. Does anyone know something like this cross platform?
     
  7. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #7
    The closest I think you're going to get is what I pointed you to earlier. The technical complications of doing this between Windows and OS X seem too numerous to be worthwhile.
     
  8. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
  9. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #9
    x2x might do it.
     
  10. Huked on Fonick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #10
    Wire it?

    Id imagine you could probably open it up and jury rig the display to a VGA cable to. I imagine it would be hard to do but technally possible. Would ruin ur pc laptop.
     
  11. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #11
    Depends on how nimble you are with the soldering iron. ;)
     
  12. Huked on Fonick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #12
    Cant soder to plastic ribbions(which is what the display is probably connected to the Gcard/mobo with). Would have to very carefully tape it somehow....id be real tuff. But i dont see why it couldent be done.
     
  13. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    Trace the pins that the ribbon connects to. Solder there.

    It can be done. I've done it. But it's not easy.

    And no, I don't have pictures. It was a project for a friend's laptop.
     

Share This Page