Used Mac OSX for the first time! Wheres the hash?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DJC17, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. DJC17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #1
    My Uni has just got a load of iMacs in the computer room, went to check my email between classes on a PC, but the PC's were all booked out. Bit worried about using a Mac cos I'd never done it before, and didn't want to look an idiot in front of everyone!

    After a couple of minutes of working out what does what (my God, that single button mouse will take ages to get used to!) I picked up the basics nicely and was happily surfing the net and checking my email. Good stuff Apple.

    But one problem. My email password has a "hash" key in it, and that particluar key was noticably absent fron the keyboard. Problems. I got round it by getting the symbol from Words "insert symbol", and pasting that into the password box. There must be an easier way than that?! Why no hash? I use it a lot!
     
  2. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #2
    by hash do you mean #?
    on a uk keyboard i believe it's option(alt)+3.
     
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
  4. DJC17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #4
    Thats the kiddie, I'll give it a go on Monday when I'm in front of a Mac next!

    Interestingly, there is a link to this forum in the favourites on every iMac at the Uni.
     
  5. fayans macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #5
    Go to System Preferences > International > Input Menu and select Keyboard Viewer. From the right menu menu bar, Show Keyboard Viewer.

    From there, press 'alt/command' and see what key is assigned to which special character you are looking for (i.e '#').
     

    Attached Files:

  6. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #6
    Hey, when you order the computers in your sig, use your favorite 2 button mouse and it should work just like in windows.

    I use a kensington optical with mouseworks (4 button) and I can program the keys to do different functions in tiger (expose... dashboard etc) and I don't like the 1 button mouse at all. Love my mac!
     
  7. DJC17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #7
    I want a bluetooth one tho for a complete wire-free experience, the only wire being the power cord! Is there a bluetooth two (more more) button mouse avaliable?
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Not from Apple, but basically any PC bluetooth mouse will work just fine.
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #9
    That's becoming less and less true with Logitech pumping out all sorts of "smart mice", but most mice will work fine with OSX.
     

Share This Page